Cookies on this website
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you click 'Continue' we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies and you won't see this message again. Click on 'Find out more' to see our Cookie statement.
A view of Oxford colleges and spires

Congratulations to Professor Ben Davis, Professor of Chemical Biology in the Department of Chemistry, who has been made a Fellow of the Academy of Medical Sciences. Election to the Fellowship is awarded for scientific excellence which includes notable contributions to biomedical and health science, the generation of new knowledge in medical sciences and its translation into benefits to society.

Congratulations also to Professor Jane Langdale of the Department of Plant Sciences and Professor Janet Pierrehumbert of the Oxford e-Research Centre, Department of Engineering Science, both of whom have been elected to the US National Academy of Sciences (NAS). Professor Pierrehumbert was appointed as one of 100 new members of NAS, and Professor Langdale was appointed a Foreign Associate. The National Academy of Sciences is a private, nonprofit institution that was established under a congressional charter signed by President Abraham Lincoln in 1863. Members are elected by their peers in recognition of distinguished and continuing achievements in original research.

Deeply honoured by her election to the Academy, Janet Pierrehumbert notes, “I’m very gratified to see the Academy recognizing work that crosses disciplinary boundaries as much as mine does. My field epitomizes an area in which scientists can learn from engineers, and engineers can learn from scientists”.

Of her award, Jane Langdale said: "This was totally unexpected. I am honoured, amazed (gobsmacked actually), and so grateful to all of my group members – past and present - who have contributed to the body of work that this award recognises."

Forty percent of the newly elected members and foreign associates are women - the most ever elected in any one year to date. Professors Pierrehumbert and Langdale join 13 other University of Oxford faculty currently in the NAS