Cookies on this website
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you click 'Continue' we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies and you won't see this message again. Click on 'Find out more' to see our Cookie statement.

Five Oxford academics, including two from MPLS Division, are among fifty eminent scientists who have been elected as Fellows of the Royal Society for their exceptional contributions to science.

This year’s Fellows are:

Véronique Gouverneur, Professor of Chemistry, Department of Chemistry, University of Oxford.

Marta Kwiatkowska, Professor of Computing Systems, Department of Computer Science, University of Oxford.

Sarah C. Darby, Professor of Medical Statistics, Nuffield Department of Population Health, University of Oxford.

Anant Parekh, Professor of Physiology, Department of Physiology Anatomy & Genetics, and Director of the Centre for Integrative Physiology, University of Oxford.

Matthew Rushworth, Professor of Cognitive Neuroscience, Department of Experimental Psychology, University of Oxford.

Venki Ramakrishnan, President of the Royal Society, said: “Over the course of the Royal Society’s vast history, it is our Fellowship that has remained a constant thread and the substance from which our purpose has been realised: to use science for the benefit of humanity. This year’s newly elected Fellows and Foreign Members of the Royal Society embody this, being drawn from diverse fields of enquiry—epidemiology, geometry, climatology—at once disparate, but also aligned in their pursuit and contributions of knowledge about the world in which we live, and it is with great honour that I welcome them as Fellows of the Royal Society.” 

Story courtesy of the University of Oxford News Office