Cookies on this website
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you click 'Continue' we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies and you won't see this message again. Click on 'Find out more' to see our Cookie statement.
Royal Society of Chemistry logo

Congratulations to all those who have received 2019 RSC awards, as follows:


SCG-Oxford Centre of Excellence in ChemistryAwarded for creating a unique and long-standing collaboration bringing benefits to chemical science.

Professor Dermot O’Hare and his team at the Centre of Excellence have won the award for pioneering work which led to the commercialisation of breakthrough technologies: from the development of new packing materials that keep food safe and fresh; to converting biomass waste into valuable feedstock materials; to the conversion of CO2 into renewal fuels; and the current holy grail, the development of recyclable plastic. 

The SCG-Oxford Centre of Excellence for Chemistry (CoE) is a unique collaboration between Siam CementGroup (SCG) – one of Thailand’s biggest companies – and Oxford’s Department of Chemistry. The CoE focuses on research and development in the field of Nanomaterials – such as the production of very high surface compounds for applications in packaging, and catalysis – such as the synthesis and characterisation of organometallic molecules for olefin polymerisation. 

2019 Corday-Morgan Prize Winner

Professor Roel DullensAwarded for world-leading research to elucidate definitive experimental answers to fundamental problems in condensed matter science.

2019 Interdisciplinary Prize Winner

Professor Christopher SchofieldAwarded for pioneering work on the mechanisms of activity and resistance to antibiotics.

2019 Tilden Prize Winner

Professor James Naismith (The Rosalind Franklin Institute & University of Oxford): Awarded for career-long breakthroughs in structural and chemical dissection of natural product biosynthesis.

2019 Norman Heatley Award Winner

Professor Justin BeneschAwarded for developing physicochemical approaches to deliver quantitative insight into molecular chaperones in health and disease.

2019 Organic Stereochemistry Award Winner

Professor Véronique GouverneurAwarded for creative work in stereoselective fluorine chemistry and asymmetric catalytic fluorination with metal alkali fluorides.


Dr Robert Parker, chief executive of the Royal Society of Chemistry said:

“Over the years, our lives have been significantly improved by the chemical sciences, from medicines and food to the environment itself. We are proud of the contribution the chemical sciences make to our global community, which is why it is right for us to recognise important innovations and expertise such as these. 

“Our Prizes and Awards recognise people from a range of different specialisms, backgrounds and locations. Every winner is an inspiration to the chemistry community and will play an incredibly important role in enriching people’s lives for generations to come.” 

The Royal Society of Chemistry’s Awards and Prizes are awarded in recognition of originality and impact of research, or for each winner’s contribution to the chemical sciences industry or education. They also acknowledge the importance of teamwork across the chemical sciences, as well as the abilities of individuals to develop successful collaborations. 

Similar stories

Professor Kylie Vincent appointed first Academic Champion for Women in Entrepreneurship

This is a new post, which will work in support of the priorities in the University Strategic Plan 2018-2023 and the Knowledge Exchange Strategy, around innovation and entrepreneurship.

Major academic-industry collaboration to tackle global challenges in sustainability

The University of Oxford joins a major new collaboration with academia and industry to use sustainable chemical technologies to accelerate the UK’s transition to net zero carbon emissions.

Oxford researchers elected to Royal Society

Six scientists from the University of Oxford, including four from MPLS, have joined the Royal Society as Fellows.

Michael Wooldridge Wins 2021 Outstanding Educator Award

Professor Wooldridge has received this award, given by the Association for the Advancement of Artificial Intelligence (AAAI) and the Symposium on Educational Advances in Artificial Intelligence (EAAI), for outstanding global leadership in AI education and public awareness.