Cookies on this website
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you click 'Continue' we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies and you won't see this message again. Click on 'Find out more' to see our Cookie statement.

This award is in recognition of Professor Bradley's achievements in the field of Advanced Materials Science.

Professor Donal Bradley

Czochralski Award

Professor Jan Czochralski is one of the most famous Polish scientists. One of his most important discoveries was the technology for growing single crystals, now known as the Czochralski Method. It was discovered in 1916 when he found that after dipping a pen into a small crucible of molten aluminium and withdrawing it, a thread of aluminium hangs from the nib. Careful investigations had shown that this was a single crystal and so the Czochralski Method for single crystal growth was born. The method is used for example for the growth of the single crystals of Germanium and Silicon which are the basis of a vast range of modern electronic equipment and devices.

Taking into account the merits of Czochralski for materials science, technology transfer to industry, and international collaboration, the European Materials Research Society (E-MRS) established an award in the name of Jan Czochralski.

To date the following recipients have been honoured:
- 2005 - Prof. Walter HEYWANG, formerly Director of Research of Siemens,
- 2006 - Prof. Boris PATON, the long term President of the Ukraine National Academy of Science,
- 2007 - Prof. Thaddeus B. MASSALSKI from Carnegie Mellon University,
- 2008 - Prof. Shuji NAKAMURA from University of California and Prof. Kurt Heinz Juergen BUSCHOW from University of Amsterdam.
- 2009 - Prof. Hermann GRIMMEISS from University of Lund.
- 2010 - Prof. Mildred DRESSELHAUS from MIT, USA.
- 2011 - Prof. Federico CAPASSO from Harvard University, USA.
- 2012 - Prof. Anthony M. GLAZER from Clarendon Laboratory, U.K.
- 2013 - Prof. Sylwester POROWSKI, IHPP, PAS, Poland.
- 2014 - Prof. George M. WHITESIDES, Harvard University, USA.
- 2015 - Prof. Claes-Göran GRANQVIST, The Angström Laboratory, Uppsala, Sweden.
- 2016 - Prof. Manijeh RAZEGHI, Northwestern University, USA.
- 2017 - Prof. Elvira FORTUNATO, CENIMAT - Universidade Nova de Lisboa, Portugal.
- 2018 - Prof. Herbert GLEITER - Research Centre Karlsruhe (INT), Germany


- 2019 - Prof. Donal Bradley - University of Oxford, U.K has been awarded the E-MRS 2019 Jan Czochralski Award in recognition of his achievements in the field of Advanced Materials Science. The Award Presentation Ceremony will take place on September 18, 2019. Prof. Bradley will deliver a lecture just after the award presentation ceremony.


Similar stories

Oxford University collaborate with Formula 1 to increase diversity and inclusion in engineering

Oxford University is to collaborate with Formula 1 on a new scholarship to support talented undergraduate engineers from under-represented backgrounds into careers in the motorsports industry.

Artificial Intelligence pioneered at Oxford to detect floods launches into space

A new technology, developed by Oxford researchers, in partnership with the European Space Agency’s (ESA) Φ-lab, will pilot the detection of flood events from space. It was deployed on hardware on D-Orbit’s upcoming ‘Wild Ride’ mission being launched by SpaceX’s Falcon 9 from Cape Canaveral, 30 June, 20.00 UK time.

Project championing cleaner energy production announced

The Energy Systems Accelerator pilot (Mini TESA), to be based at Osney Mead in Oxford, is a world-leading multi-disciplinary hub, championing green innovation

Beautiful clouds, Mr Bond: Philip Stier and why you shouldn't look up the same way again

A Science Blog interview with Philip Stier, now at the forefront of climate science as a leading researcher into clouds.

Binks Trust gift to boost photovoltaic research

The Department of Physics is delighted to have received a significant philanthropic donation from the Binks Trust, which will be used to enhance its solar energy research over the next few years.