Cookies on this website
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you click 'Continue' we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies and you won't see this message again. Click on 'Find out more' to see our Cookie statement.

Leading scientists from MPLS are among the recipients of this year's Royal Society annual prizes, announced today.

About us

The awards recognise exceptional scientists engaged in challenging research that opens up new possibilities and applications.

The four MPLS recipients of 2016 Royal Society awards or medals are:

Professor Jo Dunkley (Professor of Astrophysics)
Rosalind Franklin Award and Lecture – for her research in the cosmic microwave background and her innovative project to support and encourage girls studying physics.

Professor Simon Myers (Professor of Mathematical Genomics)
Francis Crick Medal and Lecture – for transforming our understanding of meiotic recombination and of human population history.

Professor Henry Snaith FRS (Professor of Physics)
Kavli Medal and Lecture – for his discovery and development of perovskite solar cells, which are expected to dramatically increase the efficiency and reduce the cost of solar energy.

Professor Andrew Zisserman FRS (Professor of Engineering Science)
Milner Medal and Lecture – for his work on computational theory and commercial systems for geometrical images and as a pioneer in machine learning for vision.

The Royal Society is a self-governing fellowship of many of the world's most distinguished scientists drawn from all areas of science, engineering, and medicine. The Royal Society's fundamental purpose, reflected in its founding charters of the 1660s, is to recognise, promote and support excellence in science and to encourage the development and use of science for the benefit of humanity.