Cookies on this website
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you click 'Continue' we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies and you won't see this message again. Click on 'Find out more' to see our Cookie statement.

Four University departments, including the Department of Physics and Department of Computer Science, have been granted Athena SWAN awards in recognition of their efforts to help promote and advance the careers of women in academia.

The Department of Physics gained a Silver award, which recognises continued commitment to advancing women's careers in science and medicine. The Department of Computer Science gained a Bronze award, which shows that challenges have been identified and plans put in place for the future.

This means that all the University’s science and medicine departments now hold awards: a total of nine Silver and 19 Bronze awards.

Professor John Wheater, Head of the Department of Physics, said, 'I am delighted that our effort to promote greater equality for women in Physics has been recognised by this Athena SWAN Silver Award.  I am very grateful for the hard work of Lesley Gray and our Equality and Diversity Committee over the past three years, and we will strive to further improve our working environment in the future'.

Professor Michael Wooldridge, Head of Computer Science, added, 'I’m tremendously proud of this award, recognising our firm commitment to support women in computer science’.