Cookies on this website
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you click 'Continue' we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies and you won't see this message again. Click on 'Find out more' to see our Cookie statement.

Professor Alex Halliday from the Department of Earth Sciences was recently awarded the 2016 Harry H. Hess Medal, a significant honour of the American Geophysical Union.

This leading medal is awarded to recognise “outstanding achievements in research on the constitution and evolution of the Earth and other planets.

Presenting the award, David Stevenson from the California Institute of Technology said: ‘Alex Halliday is a pioneer in the application of isotopic techniques in geochemistry. The past few decades have seen remarkable developments that constrain the timing and nature of events in the early history of the solar system, and Alex has been one of the principal leaders in this effort… He is an outstanding recipient of the Hess Medal.’

Professor Halliday joins an illustrious list of past recipients (see More information on 2016’s Medal and Award winners can be found on the AGU EOS website.

Professor Halliday was also recently made a member of Academia Europaea, the European Academic Society.