Cookies on this website
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you click 'Continue' we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies and you won't see this message again. Click on 'Find out more' to see our Cookie statement.
Ukri epsrc and nerc logos

Congratulations to those MPLS academics who have been appointed as members of the new UK Research and Innovation Councils, which will replace the existing Research Councils on 1 April 2018 when UK Research and Innovation (UKRI) is formally established.

Alison Etheridge FRS (Professor of Probability) and Ian Walmsley FRS (Hooke Professor of Experimental Physics, and Pro-Vice-Chancellor, Research and Innovation) will sit on the Engineering and Physical Sciences Research Council; and Gideon Henderson FRS (Professor of Earth Sciences) will sit on the Natural Environmental Research Council. Councils are responsible for advising and making decisions on scientific, research and innovation matters, and for the strategic leadership of their fields across the UK.

In addition, Professor Hagan Bayley FRS (Professor of Chemical Biology) has been appointed as a member of the Arts and Humanities Research Council from April 1st.

We are delighted that colleagues’ expertise and standing have been recognised through these appointments.