Cookies on this website
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you click 'Continue' we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies and you won't see this message again. Click on 'Find out more' to see our Cookie statement.
Skip to main content
Six mpls academics elected fellows of the royal society

Six of the University's distinguished scientists have been elected as Fellows of the Royal Society for their outstanding contributions to science, three from MPLS Division.

They are Professor Tony Bell, Professor Alison Noble and Professor Sir Nigel Shadbolt from MPLS, Professor Yvonne Jones and Professor Hugh Watkins from Medical Sciences Division, and Professor Yadvinder Malhi from Social Sciences Division.

Venki Ramakrishnan, President of the Royal Society, said:  'Science is a great triumph of human achievement and has contributed hugely to the prosperity and health of our world. In the coming decades it will play an increasingly crucial role in tackling the great challenges of our time including food, energy, health and the environment. The new Fellows of the Royal Society have already contributed much to science and it gives me great pleasure to welcome them into our ranks.'

Professor Tony Bell from the Department of Physics is known for his pioneering work into astrophysical and laser-produced plasmas, as well as work looking at cosmic ray acceleration.

Professor Alison Noble, the Technikos Professor of Biomedical Engineering in the Oxford University Department of Engineering Science, is changing our understanding of biomedical image analysis, with a particular focus on raising the profile of ultrasound imaging.

Sir Nigel Shadbolt, Principal and Professorial Research Fellow in Computer Science, has researched and published widely on topics ranging from cognitive psychology to computational neuroscience. He has made significant contributions to Artificial Intelligence and is an international leader in the field of open data and currently researching 'social machines'.

From the other divisions:

Professor Yvonne Jones is Deputy Director of the Wellcome Trust Centre for Human Genetics in the Nuffield Department of Medicine. She leads the Cancer Research UK Receptor Structure Research Group, which focuses on the structural biology of extracellular recognition and signalling complexes.

Professor Hugh Watkins, Head of the Radcliffe Department of Medicine and Honorary Consultant in Cardiology and General Medicine, is known for work that is making a major impact in medicine using molecular genetic analysis of cardiovascular disease as a tool to define disease mechanisms and therapeutic targets.

Professor Yadvinder Malhi, based in the Environmental Change Institute at the School of Geography and the Environment, is an international leader in promoting the science and conservation of forests through research collaboration and capacity building in tropical countries.

Story courtesy of the University of Oxford News Office