Cookies on this website
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you click 'Continue' we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies and you won't see this message again. Click on 'Find out more' to see our Cookie statement.
Oxford tops most cited research table

Congratulations to Professor David Marshall in the Department of Physics and Professor Ben Davis in the Department of Chemistry, who have both been elected Members of Academia Europaea.

Academia Europaea was founded in 1988 and is a European, non-governmental association acting as an Academy. It has just over 3700 members including leading experts from the physical sciences and technology, biological sciences and medicine, mathematics, the letters and humanities, social and cognitive sciences, economics and the law. The object of Academia Europaea is the advancement and propagation of excellence in scholarship in all areas of academia.

Professor Marshall is a Physical Oceanographer interested in understanding how and why the ocean circulates, how the ocean circulation might change in the future in response to anthropogenic climate forcing, and how the ocean circulation has varied in the past. He is also currently head of the Atmospheric, Oceanic and Planetary Physics sub-department in the Department of Physics.

Professor Davis studies the chemistry of carbohydrates and proteins, particularly their role in acting as biological markers in processes such as immune response and cancer metastasis, and the consequent potential for development of new drugs for treating diseases.