Cookies on this website
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you click 'Continue' we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies and you won't see this message again. Click on 'Find out more' to see our Cookie statement.

Six zoologists have won awards including Professor Martin Maiden who is now a Fellow of the Academy of Medical Sciences.

Zoologists secure awards

Professor Martin Maiden has been elected as a Fellow of the Academy of Medical Sciences. 47 world leading UK researchers have been elected to the prestigious Fellowship of the Academy of Medical Sciences. They have been elected for their contribution to medical research and healthcare, the generation of new knowledge in medical sciences and its translation into benefits to society.

Professor Peter Holland, Head of the Department of Zoology, has been awarded the Zoological Society of London's Frink Medal, the Society’s premier award for significant contributions by a professional zoologist.

Professor Kevin Foster has been awarded the Zoological Society of London's Scientific Medal, the Society’s award for mid-career scientists with less than 15 years postdoctoral experience in recognition of scientific merit.

Professor Owen Lewis has been elected to the Learned Society of Wales.

Professor Chris Perrins, Emeritus Professor of Zoology, has been awarded the British Ornithologists’ Union Medal for outstanding contributions to ornithology.

Mr Patrick Meyer-Higgins, an Oxford Biological Sciences graduate in 2015 and now Oxford Interdisciplinary Bioscience Doctoral Training Programme student, has been awarded the Zoological Society of London Charles Darwin Award and Marsh Prize for the best zoological research project by an undergraduate attending a university in the UK.