Cookies on this website

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you click 'Accept all cookies' we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies and you won't see this message again. If you click 'Reject all non-essential cookies' only necessary cookies providing core functionality such as security, network management, and accessibility will be enabled. Click 'Find out more' for information on how to change your cookie settings.

The Royal Academy of Engineering has now opened nominations for the Rooke award that recognises individuals or small teams that have promoted engineering to the public.

The Rooke Award, named after past President and Academy Fellow Sir Denis Rooke recognises the public promotion of engineering by an individual or small team, based in the UK.

Previous winners have included:

Dr Larissa Suzuki who, amongst other things, founded the UCL Society of Women Engineers and co-founded the London branch of the Anita Borg Institute for Women and Technology; Dr Susan Scurlock MBE founder of Primary Engineer; and Major Tim Peak CMG for his work on the Principia mission’s education programme.

Self-nominations are not accepted, however, if you are interested in this award but do not know of anyone to nominate you please contact the Academy.

The award consists of a medal.

The deadline for nominations is 5pm on 5 November.

Full details and to nominate