Cookies on this website
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you click 'Continue' we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies and you won't see this message again. Click on 'Find out more' to see our Cookie statement.

The Medal is open to all involved in outreach or public engagement for astronomy or geophysics, as well as those whose main occupation is outreach or public engagement, and open to nominees from anywhere in the world. Shortlisted candidates may be asked to provide additional information.  This award is normally presented at the next National Astronomy Meeting, or if this is not possible, at one of the Society’s A&G meetings.  

Annie Scott Dill Maunder (1868-1947) was one of the first women to be made a Fellow of the RAS.  The Medal was launched in 2016, as part of the Society's celebration of the centenary of the admission of women to Fellowship.

Nominations should be submitted by the last Friday in September for the following year's awards and should include:

  • The online nomination form
  • The case for nomination (maximum length 250 words). This should include details of the work of the nominee, the number of members of the public and others they engage with and related wider community activity.

Previous Winners:

2018 Dr Helen Mason
2017 Dr Marek Kukula

Full details and to nominate