Cookies on this website
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you click 'Continue' we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies and you won't see this message again. Click 'Find out more' for information on how to change your cookie settings.

The MPLS Division invites nominations for our first Equality and Diversity Awards. These awards will recognise individuals and teams working to advance equality, diversity and inclusion within the Division. At the same time, the awards aim to foster and raise awareness of impactful and innovative activities in all areas of equality and diversity (including disability, LGBT+, race/ethnicity and gender). A pay award of £1,000 (minus taxes) will be made to each award recipient and will be presented at the MPLS Summer Reception on Monday 5 June 2017, 5pm in St. John’s College Auditorium.

Award Categories

Category 1: Best Initiative. For a successful activity or initiative aimed at increasing equality and diversity in a department, group, or subject area.

Category 2: Lifetime Achievement. An award made to an individual who has shown outstanding dedication, sustained commitment, and effective leadership in advancing equality and diversity.

Category 3: Best Team Effort. To recognise effective collaboration between team members (within a department or across departments) working together on an equality and diversity related activity or initiative.

All current staff members (academics, researchers, and professional and support staff members) are eligible to apply. Individuals are welcome to submit applications relating to themselves or to nominate others. The intention is that one award will be made in each category, although in exceptional cases, more than one award may be made.

Nomination Procedure

Click here to download the application form, which should be completed and submitted to by 5pm on 26 May 2017.

Once the applications have been received, Heads of Department will be invited to endorse and/or comment on all applications from their department. Applications will then be judged by a panel chaired by the MPLS Director of Equality and Diversity, Prof Helen Byrne.