Cookies on this website

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you click 'Accept all cookies' we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies and you won't see this message again. If you click 'Reject all non-essential cookies' only necessary cookies providing core functionality such as security, network management, and accessibility will be enabled. Click 'Find out more' for information on how to change your cookie settings.

Senior contacts in each of the 9 MPLS academic departments are listed below, as well as contacts for Begbroke Science Park, the Doctoral Training Centre and the Ineos Oxford Institute.

Department of Biology

Heads of Department: Professor Mark Fricker and Professor Tim Coulson

Heads of Administration and Finance: Ian Bishop

Department of Biology website

Department of Chemistry

Head of Department: Professor Stephen Faulkner

Head of Administration and Finance: Janice French

Department of Chemistry website

Department of Computer Science

Head of Department: Professor Leslie Ann Goldberg

Head of Administration and Finance: Sophie Gibbons

Department of Computer Science website

Department of Earth Sciences

Head of Department: Professor Mike Kendall

Head of Administration and Finance: Louisa Bailey

Department of Earth Sciences website

Department of Engineering Science

Head of Department: Professor Ronald Roy

Head of Administration and Finance: Dr Joanna Rhodes

Department of Engineering Science website

Department of Materials

Head of Department: Professor Hazel Assender

Head of Administration and Finance: Fernanda Haswell-Martin

Department of Materials website

Department of Physics

Head of Department: Professor Ian Shipsey

Head of Administration and Finance: Simon Probert

Department of Physics website

Department of Statistics

Head of Department: Professor Christl Donnelly

Head of Administration and Finance: Annette Miller

Department of Statistics website

Mathematical Institute

Head of Department: Professor James Sparks

Head of Administration and Finance: Dr Jocasta Gardner

Mathematical Institute website

Begbroke Science Park

Director: Elaine Walder

Begbroke Science Park website

Doctoral Training Centre

Director: Professor David Gavaghan 

Head of Administration and Finance: Samantha Taylor

Doctoral Training Centre website


Head of Administration and Finance: Lyndsey Houseman

Ineos Oxford Institute website