Cookies on this website

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you click 'Accept all cookies' we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies and you won't see this message again. If you click 'Reject all non-essential cookies' only necessary cookies providing core functionality such as security, network management, and accessibility will be enabled. Click 'Find out more' for information on how to change your cookie settings.

Three MPLS academics and researchers have been awarded 2020 IOP Medals for their contributions to Physics - two in the Department of Physics and one in the Department of Chemistry.

Graphic of the solar system

Professor Simon Hooker from the Department of Physics has been awarded the Institute of Physics’ Cecilia Payne-Gaposchkin Medal and Prize in recognition of his distinguished contributions to plasma physics.

The award recognises in particular Professor Hooker’s pioneering contributions to the development of high-power plasma waveguides and their application to laser-driven plasma accelerators.

‘I am absolutely delighted to receive this award on behalf of the very talented and hard-working group of graduate students, post-docs, and collaborators I have been fortunate to work with,’ confirms Professor Hooker.

Professor Hooker is internationally known for his world-leading research into novel waveguides capable of guiding relativistically-intense laser pulses. He invented the gas-filled capillary discharge waveguide and applied this novel waveguide to laser-driven plasma accelerators. In collaborative experiments with the group at Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory, this approach was used to reach an electron energy of 1GeV for the first time in a laser-driven plasma accelerator. This widely recognised milestone was reported in The Economist as well as in scientific journals, and the paper describing this work has been cited well over 1,000 times. The discovery opens the way to the development of lab-scale GeV accelerators.

Dr Brianna Heazlewood from the Department of Chemistry receives the Henry Moseley Medal and Prize for her outstanding contributions to the development of novel experimental techniques and computational modelling for studying the dynamics and mechanisms of reactive collisions at extremely low temperatures.

Particular important advances include reactions of molecular or atomic ions with polyatomic neutral molecules at very low temperatures of the order of 1 Kelvin, and in the techniques for being able to control the kinetic energy and quantum states of reactant species.

At the University of Oxford, Dr Heazlewood has led the coupling of mass spectrometry with laser-cooled ion trapping, allowing full and quantitative product analysis in the study of the dynamics and kinetics of ultracold ion-molecule reactions in cases of genuine chemical complexity, reactions that have multiple-reaction product channels. This methodology has subsequently been taken up by a number of groups worldwide in the field.

Dr Heazlewood said: 'I'm honoured to have been awarded the Henry Moseley Medal and Prize.  It recognises research that has been conducted with some amazing co-workers.  I'm incredibly grateful to have had the opportunity to work with such excellent students, postdocs and collaborators.'

Dr Becky Smethurst from the Department of Physics has been awarded the Mary Somerville Medal. The medal, awarded for exceptional early career contributions to public engagement within physics, is in recognition of the success of her YouTube channel, Dr Becky.

According to the IOP, the Dr Becky channel engages ‘a diverse, global audience with complex astrophysical ideas presented at an accessible level with a large dose of enthusiasm.’ The channel has some 175,000 subscribers and her weekly videos have clocked up more than 9 million views. Covering topics from dark matter to what it actually means to be an astrophysicist, Becky researches, produces and edits videos on a weekly basis alongside her research.

‘I started the channel so I could share my enthusiasm for what I do as an astrophysicist,’ she explains. ‘I want to inspire young people to think about following a career in science and I want to make the science that I study accessible to all. I am incredibly honoured to be awarded the Mary Somerville medal; my YouTube channel is a real labour of love for me and it is fantastic to have it recognised in this way.’

See the full list of IOP 2020 medals and prizes

Similar stories

Professor David Deutsch awarded Breakthrough Prize in Fundamental Physics

Professor David Deutsch has today been named as one of four internationally pioneering physicists to receive the 2023 Breakthrough Prize in Fundamental Physics for his work on quantum information, while Professor James Maynard has received one of six New Horizons in Mathematics Prizes.

Two MPLS Professors elected as Royal Academy of Engineering Fellows

Professors Niki Trigoni and David Hills are among 72 leading figures in engineering and technology to be elected as Fellows of The Royal Academy of Engineering this week.

‘Holy Grail’ physics discovery could open the way to super-efficient quantum electronics

An international team of researchers, led by Professor JC Séamus Davis from the Department of Physics, has announced results that support one of the leading theories explaining the atomic-scale mechanism behind high-temperature superconductivity.

Professor Stephen Smartt CBE FRS appointed as the new Philip Wetton Chair of Astrophysics

Stellar astrophysicist Professor Smartt joins the Department of Physics from his alma mater Queen’s University Belfast and takes over from Professor Roger Davies, who has held the Wetton Chair since its creation in 2002.

Oxford to host net zero technology summit

A summit today at Oxford University’s Blavatnik School of Government will explore and map how innovation can help the world to net zero, faster.

Oxford partners with the Optiver Foundation to launch new international postgraduate scholarship programme for women in STEM

The partnership aims to increase the number of women from low- and middle-income countries who take up offers to study Master's programmes in MPLS departments, with the first Optiver Foundation Scholars joining in October 2023.