Cookies on this website

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you click 'Accept all cookies' we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies and you won't see this message again. If you click 'Reject all non-essential cookies' only necessary cookies providing core functionality such as security, network management, and accessibility will be enabled. Click 'Find out more' for information on how to change your cookie settings.

The Royal Society building at Carlton House Terrace

Congratulations to the MPLS researchers who have been awarded Royal Society University Research Fellowships for 2022.

The recently revised University Research Fellowship (URF) scheme provides financial support for outstanding researchers in the early stages of their careers to pursue cutting-edge scientific research.

This year’s fellowship recipients based at the University of Oxford are:

  • Dr Ross Anderson, Department of Earth Sciences – Preserving the rise of complex life
  • Dr Abhirup Banerjee, Department of Engineering Science – Multimodal reconstruction of digital heart for cardiac interventions in real-time
  • Dr Nick Bultinck, Department of Physics – Strongly interacting electrons in synthetic superlattices
  • Dr Kaibo Hu, Mathematical Institute – Finite elements for geometry
  • Dr James Matthews, Department of Physics – Extreme cosmic accelerators: High-energy particles and feedback from black hole jets and winds

Professor Laura Herz, Associate Head (Research) in the MPLS Division, said: 'It's wonderful to see our early career researchers being recognised for their novel and ground-breaking research and I am delighted for all the recipients. We all look forward to following their projects as they develop over the course of the fellowship.'

The full list of 2022/23 recipients was announced by the Royal Society this week.

Similar stories

Oxford’s Professor Saiful Islam one of three to receive Honorary Fellow accolade from the British Science Association

Saiful Islam, Professor of Materials Modelling in the Department of Materials, has been made an Honorary Fellow of the British Science Association (BSA) for his work on new materials for lithium and sodium batteries, solid oxide fuel cells and perovskite solar cells in the field of energy.

New Oxford mathematics scholarship enabled by founding and principal donor XTX Markets

The new scholarship launches in memory of the mathematician Maryam Mirzakhani.

Scholarship scheme for graduates displaced by the war in Ukraine receives funding to continue

XTX Markets is partnering with the University to fund a scholarship programme for the academic year 2023/24 supporting graduate students studying in MPLS.