Cookies on this website

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you click 'Accept all cookies' we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies and you won't see this message again. If you click 'Reject all non-essential cookies' only necessary cookies providing core functionality such as security, network management, and accessibility will be enabled. Click 'Find out more' for information on how to change your cookie settings.

Following the award of three European Research Council (ERC) Advanced Grants to MPLS academics in April 2022, a fourth award has subsequently been made to Professor Jarvis in the Department of Physics.

The MeerKAT telescope against a twilight sky © South African Radio Astronomy Observatory

The Advanced Grant awarded to Professor Jarvis will enable him to investigate the physics of galaxy formation and evolution using the MeerKAT radio telescope in South Africa, alongside the wealth of multi-wavelength data that is available over the same patches of sky. Specifically, he will use these data to understand the role of neutral hydrogen gas in the evolution of galaxies, and how the large-scale environment affects how galaxies form and evolve over the history of the Universe.

Professor Jarvis said, “It’s a relief and honour to receive this award and at just the right time to be able to fully exploit the amazing data that is coming out of the MeerKAT telescope, to really push our knowledge of the role of neutral hydrogen in galaxy evolution. I can’t wait to recruit to the positions that are funded through the grant and get the research underway.”

Professor Sam Howison, Head of MPLS Division, said, “I'm delighted that Matt Jarvis has secured this international recognition from the ERC, in an extraordinarily competitive field, and I look forward to following the progress of his project.”

ERC Advanced Grants are highly competitive, with only 14% of applications being successful this year. Successful applicants have been identified as Principal Investigators who are ‘exceptional leaders’ in terms of the originality and significance of their research contributions, with a track-record of significant research achievements in the last 10 years.

Professor Jarvis joins Professor Stephen Blundell (Physics), Professor Ben Sheldon (Biology) and Professor Stuart White (Mathematical Institute) who received ERC Advanced Grants in April, along with Professor Aditi Lahiri from the Humanities Division.

Similar stories

Students take up Black Academic Futures Scholarships thanks to support from 'activist investor’

A DPhil candidate in the Department of Materials is amongst three 2022-entry Scholars to embark on postgraduate studies with support from the Black Academic Futures programme, with a fourth Scholar due to join in 2023/24.

‘Holy Grail’ physics discovery could open the way to super-efficient quantum electronics

An international team of researchers, led by Professor JC Séamus Davis from the Department of Physics, has announced results that support one of the leading theories explaining the atomic-scale mechanism behind high-temperature superconductivity.

Professor Stephen Smartt CBE FRS appointed as the new Philip Wetton Chair of Astrophysics

Stellar astrophysicist Professor Smartt joins the Department of Physics from his alma mater Queen’s University Belfast and takes over from Professor Roger Davies, who has held the Wetton Chair since its creation in 2002.

Oxford to host net zero technology summit

A summit today at Oxford University’s Blavatnik School of Government will explore and map how innovation can help the world to net zero, faster.

Oxford partners with the Optiver Foundation to launch new international postgraduate scholarship programme for women in STEM

The partnership aims to increase the number of women from low- and middle-income countries who take up offers to study Master's programmes in MPLS departments, with the first Optiver Foundation Scholars joining in October 2023.

First definitive detection of carbon dioxide in an exoplanet atmosphere

Oxford Physics is part of the international team analysing data from NASA's James Webb Space Telescope, which has captured the first definitive detection of carbon dioxide in the atmosphere of a planet beyond our solar system.