Cookies on this website
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you click 'Continue' we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies and you won't see this message again. Click on 'Find out more' to see our Cookie statement.

The Oxford Climate Tech and Sustainability Innovation Challenge was a call for Oxford Researchers to submit ideas based on their research to help meet the challenges faced by the world in this historic climate crisis.

Logo for Oxford Climate Tech & Sustainability Innovation Challenge 2021

OUI and Oxford University’s Innovation & Business Partnerships team are delighted to announce that the winner of the Oxford ClimateTech and Sustainability Challenge is:

Alexander Frederick Shenkin from the School of Geography and the Environment for his pitch about a newly discovered climate service provided by forests. Alexander’s work has the potential to significantly increase our understanding of the climate-cooling impact of forests opening up new options for creating, managing and maintaining forests in the future.

There were also six fantastic runners-up, including five from MPLS Division:

UKRI EPSRC logoChristian Peters, from the Department of Engineering Science, who also received the EPSRC IAA merit award. Christian’s entry concerned selective recovery of precious metals from waste water as a sustainable mining method that also creates clean drinking water.

Elena Draghici-Vasilescu from the Faculty of History - Lessons from ancient Greece and the Byzantines on how to protect and manage the environment.

Sergio Gonzalez-Cortes from the Department of Chemistry - Full catalytic conversion of waste material with water into hydrogen and captured carbon dioxide.

Antti Aitio from the Department of Engineering Science - Intelligent scalable technique for the diagnosis and prognosis of battery state of health in energy storage systems.

Jonathan Blundy from the Department of Earth Sciences - Sustainable recovery of non-ferrous metals from hypersaline liquid deposits created by volcanoes.

Jake Yang from the Department of Chemistry - High-throughput electrochemical sensor for continuous global monitoring of phytoplankton to better understand ocean health.

Judges included:

  • Professor Patrick Grant – Pro Vice Chancellor for Research
  • Dr Michael Obersteiner – Director of the Environmental Change Institute
  • Professor Kylie Vincent - Academic Champion for Women in Entrepreneurship
  • Professor Benito Mueller - Convener International Climate Policy Research
  • Dr Andy Gilchrist - Innovation and Business Partnerships, Energy
  • Dr Jane Jin – OUI, Cleantech Lead

Thanks to all the fantastic finalists and judges, and another big thank you to all the collaborators and supporters who created videos for the challenge!

Similar stories

Begbroke design competition shortlist announced

Oxford University Development Ltd (OUD) has announced the five shortlisted entries to the Begbroke design competition it launched in November last year.

7 attributes for a successful Net Zero

A new Nature Climate Change paper highlights the urgency of emission reductions and emphasises the need for social and environmental integrity. There are clear risks of getting net zero wrong. If interpreted right and governed well, net zero can be an effective frame of reference for climate action.

Professor Myles Allen appointed CBE

Congratulations to Professor Myles Allen, Professor of Geosystem Science in the Environmental Change Institute, School of Geography and the Environment and Department of Physics, who has been appointed CBE in the New Year Honours 2022 for services to climate change attribution, prediction and net zero.

Safer carbon capture and storage

Depleted oil fields are one of the targets for carbon dioxide burial and related technology development. New research from the Department of Earth Sciences, published in Nature, shows that subsurface microbial activity may make this type of carbon burial target more complex than originally thought.

Walking at Blenheim Palace for Wellbeing

Oxford University has collaborated with nearby Blenheim Palace to the test the benefit of social prescriptions, a medical intervention offering preventive remedies in the form of activity ranging from walking in nature to social interaction. The coordinating body was the Pitch-In project, in which Oxford is a key partner.