Cookies on this website

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you click 'Accept all cookies' we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies and you won't see this message again. If you click 'Reject all non-essential cookies' only necessary cookies providing core functionality such as security, network management, and accessibility will be enabled. Click 'Find out more' for information on how to change your cookie settings.

Six Oxford Mathematicians and two Theoretical Physicists and their collaborators have been awarded Frontiers of Science Awards for their respective research papers at the inaugural International Congress of Basic Science Conference which took place in Beijing, China.

Six Oxford Mathematicians and Two Oxford theorists receive Frontiers of Science Awards
Photo: clockwise from top left; Nick Trefethen, Jonathan Pila, Graeme Segal, Glenn Wagner, Steve Simon, Yves Kwan, Siddharth Parameswaran, Nick Bultinck, James Maynard, Dawid Kielak, and Yuji Nakatsukasa

For the 2023 selection, scientific works in both basic and applied research were chosen in 34 areas of the three basic science fields (mathematics, theoretical physics, and theoretical computer and information sciences).  Each winning paper receives a prize of $25,000. The full list of winners is here



Category: Mathematical Logic, Foundations and Category Theory

Paper and Oxford author: Ax-Schanuel for Shimura varieties - Jonathan Pila


Number Theory

On the Duffin-Schaeffer conjecture - James Maynard


Algebraic and Geometric Topology

On property (T) for Aut(Fn) and SLn(Z) - Dawid Kielak


Numerical Analysis and Scientific Computation

The AAA Algorithm for Rational Approximation - Yuji Nakatsukasa and Nick Trefethen 


Lie Theory and Representation Theory

Wick rotation and the positivity of energy in quantum field theory - Graeme Segal




Condensed Matter theory

Global Phase Diagram of the Normal State of Twisted Bilayer Graphene - The award was given to former DPhil students Dr Glenn Wagner and Dr Yves Kwan, who are now postdoctoral fellows at the University of Zurich and Princeton University, respectively; Dr Nick Bultinck, a former Royal Society University Research Fellow at Oxford who is now on the faculty of Ghent University in Belgium; and Oxford RPC faculty Professors Steve Simon and Siddharth Parameswaran.


Measurement-Induced Phase Transitions in the Dynamics of En- tanglement - Adam Nahum