Cookies on this website

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you click 'Accept all cookies' we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies and you won't see this message again. If you click 'Reject all non-essential cookies' only necessary cookies providing core functionality such as security, network management, and accessibility will be enabled. Click 'Find out more' for information on how to change your cookie settings.

Royal Astronomical Society logo

Congratulations to Professor Pedro Gil Ferreira, Dr Becky Smethurst and Dr Tim Lichtenberg in the Department of Physics, who have all received RAS 2022 awards.

Professor Ferreira, who is one of the world’s leading experts in cosmological tests of gravity, has been awarded the Royal Astronomical Society’s 2022 Gerald Whitrow Lecture in Astronomy.

Dr Smethurst, a specialist in galaxy formation and evolution, has been awarded the Royal Astronomical Society’s 2022 Winton Award for Astronomy.

Dr Lichtenberg has been awarded the Royal Astronomical Society’s Winton Award for Early Achievement in Geophysics for his work on understanding the growth and long-term evolution of rocky planets.

The full list of Royal Astronomical Society 2022 awards can be found on the RAS website.