Cookies on this website

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you click 'Accept all cookies' we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies and you won't see this message again. If you click 'Reject all non-essential cookies' only necessary cookies providing core functionality such as security, network management, and accessibility will be enabled. Click 'Find out more' for information on how to change your cookie settings.

Details of our teams and team members, and a full list of all office staff on the 'People' tab'.

Academic HR Team

Management of administrative procedures and processes relating to all academic appointments in the Division.

Academic Office

Responsible for learning and teaching policy; cross-departmental outreach; divisional-level graduate administration; and training for doctoral students and researchers. Includes the Graduate Office Team, Training Team and Enterprise Team.

Administrative team

Responsible for the management and day-to-day running of the Divisional Office, and provides Executive Assistant support to senior team members.

Communications

Responsible for the MPLS website and Twitter, the Division's monthly e-newsletter, communications for internal and external projects and partnerships, and liaison with communications staff in MPLS departments and the University's Public Affairs Directorate.

Development Office

The Development Office leads fundraising efforts across the departments, from student support and faculty posts to building projects and equipment costs.

Enterprise

Responsible for development of the MPLS Enterprise Programme; supports MPLS departments and CDTs to develop and deliver their Enterprise and commercialisation training and activities.

Equality, Diversity and Inclusion

This team develops divisional strategy in all areas of equality, diversity and inclusion (EDI) in relation to staff and students.

Finance

Management of financial planning activity across departments, notably the preparation of the annual divisional budget. Day-to-day guidance to departments.

Graduate Office

Responsible for the management of all aspects of on-course graduate student administration, support for the Graduate Supervision System, the maintenance of graduate student records on the University’s Student System, supporting the administration of new Centres for Doctoral Training and Doctoral Training Partnerships, and administering postgraduate student funding for RCUK doctoral training grants/partnerships, including any associated funding streams, and various University postgraduate scholarships requiring a divisional competition (e.g. the Clarendon Scholarships).

HR Team

The MPLS HR Team is responsible for supporting the Division and its departments with regard to HR policy, including recruitment and selection.

Innovation and Business Partnerships Team

The Innovation and Business Partnerships Team focuses on building strong research collaborations between industry and the University, facilitating both enduring strategic partnerships with companies and funding for collaborative research. The team liaises with companies to understand research needs and works with departments to assemble bespoke, multi-disciplinary, research propositions that match Oxford’s strengths to company needs.

Public Engagement

This team is responsible for supporting researchers to think about, plan and do high quality public engagement. We look after Oxford Sparks (the University's digital science engagement platform), run training and a number of different activities that contribute to a positive and supportive environment for public engagement as part of research culture.

Research Support

Responsible for strategic planning in relation to research funding, research facilitation, research policy and administration for the MPLS Division.

Senior team

Includes the Head of Division, Divisional Registrar, Deputy Head and Associate Heads.

Strategic Planning and Projects

Oversight of strategic planning and projects for MPLS Division, Communications, Public Engagement with Research, Safety, and Information Security and Data Protection.

Training

Responsible for the Division’s training programme for DPhil students and research staff, and supporting departments in developing researcher training.

Demelza Abbott-Scott

Development Executive (currently on maternity leave)

demelza.abbott-scott@devoff.ox.ac.uk

Catherine Anderson

HR Business Partner (3 days per week, variable)

catherine.anderson@admin.ox.ac.uk

Ben Armstrong

Senior Development Executive

ben.armstrong@devoff.ox.ac.uk

07909 467238

Rachel Ashwanden

Science Engagement Officer

rachel.ashwanden@mpls.ox.ac.uk

Sonya Bhatt

Divisional Finance Officer

sonya.bhatt@admin.ox.ac.uk

Dr Anuj Bhatt

Impact and Innovation Officer

anuj.bhatt@mpls.ox.ac.uk

01865 282462

Charlotte Bird

Research Communications Coordinator (Digital) (covering for maternity leave)

charlotte.bird@mpls.ox.ac.uk

David Black

HR Business Partner

david.black@admin.ox.ac.uk

Dr Holly Bratcher

Divisional Safety Officer

holly.bratcher@mpls.ox.ac.uk

Karen Brayshaw

Researcher Training and Development Project Officer

karen.brayshaw@mpls.ox.ac.uk

Polly Bunce

Academic Appointments and HR Officer

polly.bunce@mpls.ox.ac.uk

01865 282588

Tom Butcher

Divisional Finance Manager

tom.butcher@admin.ox.ac.uk

Sophie Campbell

HR Assistant and Office Administrator

sophie.campbell@mpls.ox.ac.uk

+44 (0)1865 282570

Professor Martin Castell

Associate Head (Taught Degrees)

martin.castell@materials.ox.ac.uk

Bethany Castle

Development Executive (covering for maternity leave)

bethany.castle@devoff.ox.ac.uk

Sally Charles

Enterprise Programme Manager

sally.charles@mpls.ox.ac.uk

Rosie Collins

Research Assessment Manager

rosie.collins@mpls.ox.ac.uk

01865 282463

Professor Zhanfeng Cui

Director of Strategic Projects, China

zhanfeng.cui@eng.ox.ac.uk

James Cunning

Researcher Training Coordinator

james.cunning@mpls.ox.ac.uk

+44 (0)1865 282589

Connor D'Arcy

Innovation and Business Partnerships Associate

connor.darcy@mpls.ox.ac.uk

Rachel Dahl

Head of Division's Executive Assistant

rachel.dahl@mpls.ox.ac.uk

+44 (0) 1865 282582

Nav Dean

Royal Society Entrepreneur in Residence

nav.dean@mpls.ox.ac.uk

Dr Keri Dexter

MPLS Head of Strategic Planning & Projects

keri.dexter@mpls.ox.ac.uk

+44 (0)1865 282575

Martin Edmunds

Head of Research Support

martin.edmunds@mpls.ox.ac.uk

Suza Frank

Divisional Finance Officer – DTC and Projects

suza.frank@admin.ox.ac.uk

Dr Tracy Gale

Divisional Registrar and Chief Operating Officer

tracy.gale@mpls.ox.ac.uk

+44 (0)1865 282574

Dr Murray Gardner

Team Lead, MPLS Innovation & Business Partnerships

murray.gardner@mpls.ox.ac.uk

01865 283797

Charlotte Garner

Senior Development Executive – Mathematics

charlotte.garner@devoff.ox.ac.uk

+44 (0)7850 902561

Dr Andy Gilchrist

Innovation and Business Partnerships - Net Zero Energy

andy.gilchrist@mpls.ox.ac.uk

07714 598113

Bulvinder Gurm

Head of Policy for Taught Courses

bulvinder.gurm@mpls.ox.ac.uk

+44 (0)1865 282577

Sophie Harris

Research Funding Administrator

sophie.harris@mpls.ox.ac.uk

Professor Nick Hawes

Academic Champion for Public Engagement with Research

Amy Hinks

ED&I Data Analyst and Athena Swan Coordinator

amy.hinks@mpls.ox.ac.uk

Anne Hobbs

Academic Appointments Officer (currently on sabbatical)

anne.hobbs@mpls.ox.ac.uk

Please call on MS Teams

Daisy Hopkins

Science Engagement Facilitator

daisy.hopkins@mpls.ox.ac.uk

Lauren Hughes

HR Business Partner (currently on maternity leave)

lauren.hughes@admin.ox.ac.uk

Daisy J. Hung

MPLS Head of Equality, Diversity and Inclusion

daisy.hung@mpls.ox.ac.uk

Justin Hutchence

Researcher Training and Development Manager

justin.hutchence@mpls.ox.ac.uk

+44 (0)1865 282622

Rob Key

Research Video Producer

rob.key@mpls.ox.ac.uk

Jo Knights

Equality, Diversity and Inclusion Coordinator

joanne.knights@mpls.ox.ac.uk

Yi Li

PA/Office Manager, Innovation and Business Partnerships

yi.li@tss.ox.ac.uk

+44 (0)1865 283797

Dr Michaela Livingstone-Banks

Head of Public and Community Engagement with Research

michaela.livingstone@mpls.ox.ac.uk

+44 (0)1865 282595

Mandy Lloyd

Finance Assistant

mandy.lloyd@mpls.ox.ac.uk

Sarah Loving

MPLS Communications Officer

sarah.loving@mpls.ox.ac.uk

+44 (0)1865 282108

Bob Mahoney

Head of Graduate Policy and Administration

bob.mahoney@mpls.ox.ac.uk

01865 282535

Sarah McHugh

Head of Education Planning and Policy

sarah.mchugh@mpls.ox.ac.uk

Shona Murphy

Graduate Office Assistant

shona.murphy@mpls.ox.ac.uk

Patrick Myers

Senior Development Executive (Chemistry)

patrick.myers@devoff.ox.ac.uk

+44 7717 878720

Katie Noble

Academic Administrative Officer

katie.noble@mpls.ox.ac.uk

Professor Dermot O'Hare

Associate Head (Innovation & Industrial Liaison)

dermot.ohare@chem.ox.ac.uk

Philip Paling

Divisional Safety Officer

philip.paling@eng.ox.ac.uk

Sarah Parkin

Continuous Improvement Manager

sarah.parkin@mpls.ox.ac.uk

Dr Elizabeth Peachey

Assistant Registrar (Planning and Research Impact)

elizabeth.peachey@mpls.ox.ac.uk

+44 (0)1865 282087

Hannah Ravenswood

Equality, Diversity and Inclusion Facilitator – Training and Development

hannah.ravenswood@mpls.ox.ac.uk

Professor Dimitra Rigopoulou

Associate Head (Research Degrees)

dimitra.rigopoulou@physics.ox.ac.uk

Dr Alan Roth

Royal Society Entrepreneur in Residence and Visiting Lecturer in Chemistry

alan.roth@mpls.ox.ac.uk

+44 (0)1865 282 470

Jeannie Scott

MPLS Strategic Projects Manager

jeannie.scott@mpls.ox.ac.uk

Dr Irene Scullion

Research Assessment Manager

irene.scullion@mpls.ox.ac.uk

Paul Seage

Graduate Studies Assistant

paul.seage@mpls.ox.ac.uk

Catherine Seed

Researcher Training and Development Officer

catherine.seed@mpls.ox.ac.uk

+44 (0) 1865 282088

Dr James Semple

Innovation and Business Partnerships - Physical Sciences

james.semple@mpls.ox.ac.uk

01865 283797

Jeremy Sims

Divisional Financial Controller

jeremy.sims@admin.ox.ac.uk

+44 (0)1865 282573

Helen Smith

HR Business Partner (covering for maternity leave)

helen.smith@admin.ox.ac.uk

Natia Sopromadze

Research Culture Facilitator

natia.sopromadze@mpls.ox.ac.uk

Dr Deborah Spencer

Innovation and Business Partnerships Manager; University Lead, UK Industrial ...

deborah.spencer@mpls.ox.ac.uk

+44 (0)1865 283718

Rachel Srawley

Senior HR Assistant (part-time, Tues-Thurs)

rachel.srawley@admin.ox.ac.uk

+44 (0)1865 282156

John Styles

Information Systems Lead

john.styles@mpls.ox.ac.uk

Dr Fiona Suttle

Research Communications Coordinator (Digital) (currently on maternity leave)

fiona.jones@mpls.ox.ac.uk

01865 282594

James Tavener

Divisional Finance Manager - Projects

james.tavener@admin.ox.ac.uk

Professor Graham Taylor

Deputy Head of Division and Associate Head (Estates and Capital Planning)

graham.taylor@biology.ox.ac.uk

Helen Taylor

Strategic Planning & Projects (Communications & Engagement)

helen.taylor@mpls.ox.ac.uk

Caitlin Tebbit

MPLS Head of Development (interim)

caitlin.tebbit@devoff.ox.ac.uk

+44 (0)7872 424102

Louisa Trevail

Enterprising Women Programme Manager

louisa.trevail@mpls.ox.ac.uk

Alison Trinder

Researcher Training and Development Project Officer

alison.trinder@mpls.ox.ac.uk

Lauren Wild

Graduate Funding Officer

lauren.wild@mpls.ox.ac.uk

Lisa Willmot

Senior Development Executive (Physics)

lisa.willmot@devoff.ox.ac.uk