Cookies on this website
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you click 'Continue' we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies and you won't see this message again. Click on 'Find out more' to see our Cookie statement.

Terms of Reference

  1. To advise the Mathematical, Physical and Life Sciences (MPLS) Divisional Board and General Purposes Committee on all areas of equality and diversity work in relation to staff and students.
  2. To guide and provide oversight of divisional strategy on equality and diversity matters, identifying main areas where divisional policies and initiatives can be established or enhanced to support a range of underrepresented groups across the staff and student body.
  3. To serve as a channel for departments to raise equality and diversity related issues where they feel they could benefit from divisional support. 
  4. To share and disseminate good workplace practices (relating to progressing equality and diversity) developed in departments, across the division.
  5. To oversee the progress of departments in submitting applications for equality and diversity related awards and recognition, such as Athena SWAN awards; including reading and commenting on award applications when requested by departments.
  6. To feed divisional perspectives into the University’s equality and diversity work, including into institutional applications for the Race Equality Charter Mark and renewal of the institutional Athena SWAN award, and the University’s Gender Equality Advisory Group, as appropriate.
  7. To oversee the co-ordination and approval of bids for any funding opportunities that may arise associated with equality and diversity matters.


The membership of this steering group will draw from representatives across the ten MPLS academic departments, aiming to have one academic or administrative representative from each department; with an overall balance of academics and administrators.  

Members will serve for a term of three years.  The steering group will be chaired by the MPLS Director of Equality and Diversity. 

In attendance

MPLS Athena SWAN Facilitator

Representative from the Equality and Diversity Unit

Athena SWAN Advisor or representative from Medical Sciences Division


The Group will meet once per term, with other ad hoc meetings as necessary.