Cookies on this website
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you click 'Continue' we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies and you won't see this message again. Click on 'Find out more' to see our Cookie statement.

A range of academic titles can be conferred by the Division or the University. These include the title of (Full) Professor, the title of Associate Professor, the title of University Research Lecturer, and the titles of Visiting Lecturer or Visiting Professor. Professorial Merit Payments can be made to University staff who have the title of Full Professor.

The procedures and criteria for eligibility vary- some are available to non-employees, for example, whilst others are available to staff in particular grades. Note that the award of the title of (Full) Professor or of the title of Associate Professor for example does not change an individual's underlying role, duties or paygrade.


Visiting professors and visiting lecturers 

Procedure for conferral of Visiting Professor and Lecturer titles

university research LECTURER 

For individuals with substantial research achievements and academic standing commensurate with that expected of an Associate Professor. Contributions to teaching may be more limited than those required for Associate Professor title, for example. 

Procedure for conferral of URL title

associate professor title 

For individuals making a significant and sustained contribution to achievement of the University's goals, and who are comparable in distinction to those holding the substantive post of Associate Professor. 

Associate Professor Title can be awarded to eligible individuals in university grades 9 and 10 or to clinicians in an honorary consultant role. Nominations are considered periodically by the divisional board, and nomination is made via the Head of Department. The MPLS Procedure Document sets out the process for conferral of Associate Professor title by the Division and the criteria (which include research, teaching and citizenship aspects). Please contact the Academic HR Officer if you need any more information.



(Full) Professor title is awarded via the annual Recognition of Distinction exercise. All those employed by the University in academic or senior research roles are eligible to apply, as are other University employees who are making a significant and sustained academic contribution to the University. Criteria in research, teaching and citizenship apply, and research distinction must be at least equal to that expected of those appointed to full professorships at other leading international research universities. The Division holds a briefing event for potential applicants each year as the annual round is opening.

Applications for the 2017-18 process have now closed, but further information about how the process runs is available here. Outcomes from each annual round are normally finalized during the Long Vacation.

Please contact the Academic HR Officer if you need any further information about the University's Recognition of Distinction process for conferral of Professorial title.

The MPLS Recognition of Distinction Committee for 2017-18 comprises:

Professor Donal Bradley (Chairman), CBE FRS, Head of MPLS Division

Professor Alan Armstrong, Professor of Organic Chemistry, Imperial College London

Professor Mark Brouard, Professor of Chemistry and Head of Department of Chemistry

Professor S. Jon Chapman, Professor of Mathematics and its Applications

Professor Charlotte Deane, Professor of Structural Bioinformatics and Head of the Department of Statistics

Professor George Efstathiou, FRS, Professor of Astrophysics, University of Cambridge

Professor Richard Ffrench-Constant, Professor of Molecular Natural History, University of Exeter

Professor Patrick Grant, FREng, Vesuvius Professor of Materials and Head of the Department of Materials

Professor Lesley Gray, Professor of Climate Physics

Professor Laura Herz, Professor of Physics

Professor Marta Kwiatkowska, Professor of Computing Systems

Professor Martin Liebeck, Professor of Pure Mathematics, Imperial College London

Professor Tamsin Mather, Professor of Earth Sciences

Professor George Ratcliffe, Professor of Plant Sciences and Head of the Department of Plant Sciences

Professor Lionel Tarassenko, CBE FREng, Professor of Electrical Engineering and Head of the Department of Engineering Science

Professor Charlotte Williams, Professor of Inorganic Chemistry

Professor John Wheater, Professor of Physics and Head of Department of Physics


Periodically, the University holds exercises to determine the pay awards that should be made to its senior academic staff in addition to their basic salaries, on the basis of their academic distinction. These are known as Professorial Merit Payments (under previous procedures these payments have been known as Professorial Distinction Awards).  Criteria in leadership and Citizenship, Teaching and Research apply, and it is expected that applicants will have exceeded the criteria for conferral of the title of Full Professor, their work and achievements having progressed since that time.

All University employees (in any type of non-clinical role) who hold the title of Full Professor, or whose post is a Statutory Professorship or Statutory Readership, are eligible to apply.  

The 2018 Round has now closed, and applications are under consideration. More information about the process and criteria can be found at

Please contact the Academic HR Officer if you need any further information about the University's Professorial Merit Pay processes.

The  MPLS Professorial merit Pay committee membership is currently being finalized, and will be published here and in the University Gazette once complete.

The MPLS Professorial Distinction Awards Committee membership for 2016-17 comprised:

  • Chairman: Professor Donal Bradley CBE FRS, Head of MPLS Division
  • Professor Helen Atkinson CBE FREng, Graduate Dean and former Head of Engineering Science, University of Leicester
  • Professor Steve Cowley FRS FREng, Director ,Culham Centre for Fusion Energy and Chief Executive Officer, UK Atomic Energy Authority and incoming Head of House, Corpus Christi
  • Professor Charlotte Deane, Head of the Department of Statistics 
  • Professor Gideon Henderson, FRS, Head of Department of Earth Sciences
  • Professor Dame Georgina Mace, DBE FRS, Professor of Biodiversity and Ecosystems, and Head of the Centre for Biodiversity and Environment Research, University College London 
  • Professor Tim Softley, Pro-Vice-Chancellor for Research and Knowledge Transfer, University of Birmingham 
  • Professor Sir Martin Taylor, KBE FRS, Warden of Merton College 
  • Professor John Wheater, Head of Department of Physics
  • Professor Mike Wooldridge, Head of the Department of Computer Science 


This page contains information on the award of titles. Information about processes for appointing academic staff and appointing heads of department can be found here and about processes for academic staff in post can be found here. If you have a query about academic staffing that is not answered by the documents on these pages, please contact the Academic Appointments Team.