Cookies on this website
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you click 'Continue' we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies and you won't see this message again. Click 'Find out more' for information on how to change your cookie settings.

The MPLS Divisional Teaching Award Scheme celebrates success, and recognises and rewards excellence in teaching. Awards are available to all those who teach, including graduate students, postdoctoral researchers and learning support staff. The Teaching Award Scheme is administered by the MPLS Divisional Office and awards are made, on merit, across the departments by a cross-departmental panel chaired by the Associate Head of Division (Education). The awards are celebrated by the Head of Division at the MPLS Summer Reception in June/July.

MPLS Teaching Awards – 2017 scheme

MPLS Teaching Awards – 2017 scheme

Nominations are now open and you can nominate yourself or another person (see ‘how to nominate’ section below). Once all nominations have been gathered, each department will shortlist nominations from their departments and then finally our panel will decide the winners. The deadline for submitting nominations is Friday 21st April.

There is one category for 2017:

Individual awards: five awards will be given for excellence in teaching.  These awards are unfunded.

Who can apply/nominate?

  • Students may nominate teaching staff;
  • Individuals may nominate themselves;
  • Departments may wish to make nominations.

You will be required to provide information on why you are making the nomination and supply supporting evidence by email.

How to nominate

To nominate yourself or another person, you will need to fill in a nomination form at:

Please send any supporting evidence to

In the past, some nominations have not been very detailed which puts them at a disadvantage so please use as much detail as possible.

Strategic Areas

You might like to think about the following strategic areas in which applications would be welcomed. The list is not intended to be exhaustive and applications are welcome on any aspect.

  • Promoting the benefits of teaching and public engagement in a research-intensive environment;
  • Improving the prominence and effectiveness of measures that enhance students' study skills and their long-term educational development (for instance their understanding and engagement with academic standards in their discipline);
  • Introductory teaching and other means of educational support for students less well prepared for Oxford;
  • Embedding graduate studies;
  • Improved support for research supervisors;
  • Innovative methods of assessment;
  • Educational initiatives to promote access (e.g. summer-schools);
  • Opportunities for raising students' awareness of and engagement with international research and scholarship;
  • Opportunities for raising students' awareness of and engagement with industry and commerce;
  • Opportunities for raising students' awareness of and engagement with the public;
  • Improved mentoring arrangements for new members of teaching staff;
  • Improved support for graduate students undertaking teaching and/or public engagement activities;
  • New or revised undergraduate or postgraduate courses;
  • New materials to support courses;
  • Teaching and support for students in Colleges that best complement the new and evolving courses provided by departments;
  • The use of information technology in teaching;
  • Interdisciplinary teaching and learning;
  • Improved collection and analysis of feedback from students;
  • Bringing active examples of research into teaching where possible;
  • Improved recognition of public engagement;
  • Innovative initiatives in public engagement.


Previous Winners

The awards have been running in their current format since 2012. The winners of the awards since 2012 are listed below including detailed descriptions for last year's awards. Winners of teaching awards from years before 2012 (when the awards were in a different format) can be requested by emailing

2016 Winners  

Project Award: Dr David Johnson, Senior Research Associate, OERC

Individual Award 1 - Dr Vicky Neale, Whitehead Lecturer, Mathematical Institute

Individual Award 2 - Mr Eric Peasley, Teaching and Design Engineer, Engineering Science

Individual Award 3 – Professor Caroline Terquem, Professor of Physics, Physics

Individual Award 4 – Dr Helen Johnson, Associate Professor, Earth Sciences

Individual Award 5 – Dr Jonathan Burton, Associate Professor, Chemistry


2015 Winners  

Project Award: Dr Christopher Palmer, Departmental lecturer, Physics   

Special Category Award for innovative use of IT in teaching: Ms Belinda Hughes, Teaching Design Engineer, Engineering Science

Individual Award 1 - Dr Steve Sheard, Associate head of Department (teaching), Engineering Science 

Individual Award 2 - Dr Andrew Ker, University lecturer, Computer Science

Individual Award 3 – Dr Cath Wilkins, Departmental Lecturer, Mathematical Institute  

Individual Award 4 – Prof Fabian Essler, Professor, Physics

Individual Award 5 – Prof Owen Lewis, Professor, Zoology 

2014 Winners

Project Award - Dr Janet Dyson and Dr Richard Earl, Mathematics

Special Category Award (Oxford Sparks Public Engagement Award) - Dr Joanna Barstow, Physics

Individual Teaching Awards - Dr Nicholas Green, Professor Elspeth Garman, Professor Steve Simon, Professor Brian Follett   

2013 Winners

Project Award - Mr Rok Sekirnik

Special Category Award - Dr Greg Gyurko

Individual Teaching Awards - Professor Luis Fernando Alday; Professor Philip Maini; Dr Christina Goldschmidt; Dr Richard Palin.   

2012 winners

Project Award - Dr Martin Griffiths

Special Category Award - Alan Howe  

Individual Teaching Awards - Dr Kathryn Gillow, Prof Jon Chapman, Tom Close, Jamie Frost   


      If you have any questions on the Teaching Award Scheme, please email us.