Cookies on this website

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you click 'Accept all cookies' we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies and you won't see this message again. If you click 'Reject all non-essential cookies' only necessary cookies providing core functionality such as security, network management, and accessibility will be enabled. Click 'Find out more' for information on how to change your cookie settings.

MPLS Teaching Awards banner

MPLS Teaching Awards 2024

The annual MPLS Divisional Teaching Awards celebrate success and recognise and reward excellence in innovative teaching. These awards are open to anyone who teaches as part of their role within the MPLS Division, including graduate students, postdoctoral researchers and learning support staff.

The Teaching Award Scheme is administered by the MPLS Divisional Office and awards are made on merit by a cross-departmental panel chaired by the Associate Head of Division (Taught Degrees). This year our award winners will be announced and celebrated towards the end of Trinity Term.

Nominations for the 2024 Award Scheme are now open. Nominations can be made by academics, staff and students. Once all nominations have been submitted to the Divisional Office, departments shortlist up to five to go forward to a divisional panel who select the overall winners.

The deadline for submitting nominations is 30 April 2024. The deadline for submitting departmental shortlists to the MPLS Divisional Office is 29 May 2024.

There are between 5-10 individual awards available, for:

  • Innovation in teaching; and/or
  • Leadership in teaching.

These carry a financial award of £1,000 per awardee (minus taxes).

How to nominate

To make a nomination in either category, please complete a Teaching Awards nomination form

Any supporting evidence can be sent to

Some past nominations have been disadvantaged by a lack of detail included, so please offer as much detail as you can to support your nomination.

Previous winners

The awards have been running in their current format since 2012. The winners of the awards since 2012 are listed below. Winners of teaching awards from the years before 2012 can be requested by emailing


Individual Awards:

Sumali Bajaj, Department of Biology

Dr Martin Galpin, Department of Chemistry

Dr Andrew Ker, Department of Computer Science

Alexandra Morton-Hayward, Department of Earth Sciences

Dr Tamarah King, Department of Earth Sciences

Dr Isaac Mear, Department of Engineering Sciences

Professor James Marrow, Department of Materials

Dr Brian Tyrrell, Mathematical Institute

Professor Claire Gwenlan, Department of Physics

Dr Neil Laws, Department of Statistics

See the 2023 Teaching Awards news item


Individual Awards:

Dr Dean Sheppard, Department of Chemistry

Dr Stuart Robinson, Department of Earth Sciences

Professor Jeroen Bergmann, Department of Engineering Sciences

Dr Christopher Patrick, Department of Materials

Professor Melanie Rupflin, Mathematical Institute

Dr Maria Christodoulou, Department of Statistics

Dr Ellie Bath, Department of Biology

Mr Martin Hurajt, Department of Biology

See the 2022 Teaching Awards news item


Individual Awards:

Anna Bidgood, Department of Earth Sciences

Professor Sam Cohen, Mathematical Institute

Professor Fabian Essler, Department of Physics

Dr Ian Griffiths and Professor Frances Kirwan, Mathematical Institute

Mareli Grady, Mathematical Institute

Professor Patrick Rebeschini, Department of Statistics

Dr Lindsay Ann Turnbull, Department of Plant Sciences


Individual Awards:

Professor Ruth Baker, Mathematical Institute

Professor Simon Benjamin, Department of Materials

Professor Helen Byrne, Mathematical Institute

Professor Xenia de la Ossa, Mathematical Institute

Professor Andre Lukas, Department of Physics

Professor Sarah Waters, Mathematical Institute


Individual Awards:

Professor Byron Byrne, Department of Engineering Sciences

Professor Dan Ciubotaru, Mathematical Institute

Professor Steven Balbus, Department of Physics

Professor Peter Darrah, Department of Plant Sciences

Professor Claire Vallance, Department of Chemistry 


Project Award: Dr David Johnson, OERC

Individual Awards:

Dr Vicky Neale, Mathematical Institute

Mr Eric Peasley, Department of Engineering Science

Professor Caroline Terquem, Department of Physics

Dr Helen Johnson, Department of Earth Sciences

Dr Jonathan Burton, Department of Chemistry 


Project Award: Dr Christopher Palmer, Department of Physics  

Special Category Award (Innovative Use of IT in Teaching Award): Ms Belinda Hughes, Department of Engineering Science

Individual Awards:

Dr Steve Sheard, Department of Engineering Science 

Dr Andrew Ker, Department of Computer Science

Dr Cath Wilkins, Mathematical Institute  

Professor Fabian Essler, Department of Physics

Professor Owen Lewis, Department of Zoology 


Project Award: Dr Janet Dyson and Dr Richard Earl, Mathematical Institute

Special Category Award (Oxford Sparks Public Engagement Award): Dr Joanna Barstow, Department of Physics

Individual Awards:

Dr Nicholas Green, Department of Chemistry

Professor Elspeth Garman, Department of Biochemistry

Professor Steve Simon, Department of Physics

Professor Brian Follett, Department of Zoology  

2013 Winners

Project Award: Mr Rok Sekirnik, Department of Chemistry

Special Category Award: Dr Greg Gyurko, Mathematical Institute

Individual Awards:

Professor Luis Fernando Alday, Mathematical Institute 

Professor Philip Maini, Mathematical Institute 

Dr Christina Goldschmidt, Department of Statistics

Dr Richard Palin, Department of Earth Sciences 


Project Award: Dr Martin Griffiths, Mathematical Institute

Special Category Award: Alan Howe, Department of Chemistry 

Individual Awards:

Dr Kathryn Gillow, Mathematical Institute

Professor Jon Chapman, Mathematical Institute

Tom Close, Mathematical Institute

Jamie Frost, Department of Computer Science  


If you have any questions on the Teaching Award Scheme, please email us.