Cookies on this website

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you click 'Accept all cookies' we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies and you won't see this message again. If you click 'Reject all non-essential cookies' only necessary cookies providing core functionality such as security, network management, and accessibility will be enabled. Click 'Find out more' for information on how to change your cookie settings.



Director of Graduate Studies

Email Address


Professor C Maclean


Dr M Galpin, Associate Head of Department (Teaching) and Director of Studies for Chemistry 

Dr J Thomson,      Deputy Director of Studies for Chemistry

      Inorganic Chemistry

Professor M Hayward

      Organic Chemistry

Professor J Robertson

      Physical &       Theoretical Chemistry

Professor W Barford


      Chemical Biology

Professor J Robertson

Computer Science

Professor J Barrett

Earth Sciences

Dr J Wade

Engineering Science

Dr D Eakins


Dr A O Taylor


Professor T Sanders

(admissions and all paper-work from transfer onwards) &

Professor C Reisinger (skills training and research students up until transfer application made)



Professor G Cotter

(Associate Head of Department & Head of Graduate Education)


Professor A Slyz

      Atmospheric, Oceanic and    

      Planetary Physics

Professor D Grainger


      Atomic and Laser Physics

Professor P Norreys

      Condensed Matter Physics

Professor P Radaelli

      Particle Physics

Professor J Tseng

      Theoretical Physics

Professor A Louis


Professor J Berestycki