Cookies on this website
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you click 'Continue' we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies and you won't see this message again. Click on 'Find out more' to see our Cookie statement.
Skip to main content

Academic Appointments

Management of administrative procedures and processes relating to all academic appointments in the Division.

Academic Office

Responsible for learning and teaching policy; cross-departmental outreach; divisional-level graduate administration; public engagement; entrepreneurship education; and personal and professional training for doctoral students and postdoctoral researchers. Includes the Graduate Office, Training team and Enterprise team.

Communications

Responsible for the MPLS website and Twitter, the Division's e-newsletter, the Division's involvement with The Conversation, information fliers about research projects, liaison with communications staff in the departments and the University's Public Affairs Directorate.

Development Office

The Development Office leads fundraising efforts across the departments, from student support and faculty posts to building projects and equipment costs.

Enterprise

Responsible for development of the MPLS Enterprise Programme; supports MPLS departments and CDTs to develop and deliver their Enterprise and commercialisation training and activities.

Equality and Diversity

Develops divisional strategy in all areas of equality and diversity in relation to staff and students, coordinates and manages activities and initiatives in support of divisional and broader University strategy in this area, and advises and guides departments on good workplace practices with respect to equality and diversity policy and practices.

Finance

Management of financial planning activity across departments, notably the preparation of the annual divisional budget. Day-to-day guidance to departments.

Graduate Office

Responsible for the management of all aspects of on-course graduate student administration, support for the Graduate Supervision System, the maintenance of graduate student records on the University’s Student System, supporting the administration of new Centres for Doctoral Training and Doctoral Training Partnerships, and administering postgraduate student funding for RCUK doctoral training grants/partnerships, including any associated funding streams, and various University postgraduate scholarships requiring a divisional competition (e.g. the Clarendon Scholarships).

Industrial Research Partnerships

The Industrial Research Partnerships team focuses on building strong research collaborations between industry and the University, facilitating both enduring strategic partnerships with companies and funding for collaborative research. The team liaises with companies to understand research needs and works with departments to assemble bespoke, multi-disciplinary, research propositions that match Oxford’s strengths to company needs.

Personnel

The MPLS Personnel Team is responsible for supporting the Division and its departments with regard to personnel policy, including recruitment and selection.

Planning and Research

Oversight of Divisional Research Strategy, coordination of cross-cutting research themes and Divisional research initiatives, and relationships with funding bodies.

Public Engagement

This team is responsible for supporting researchers to think about, plan and do high quality public engagement. We look after Oxford Sparks (the University's digital science engagement platform), run training and a number of different activities that contribute to a positive and supportive environment for public engagement as part of research culture.

Senior team

Including the Division's Head, Deputy Head, Associate Heads and Directors.

Training

Responsible for the Division’s training programme for DPhil students and research staff, and supporting departments in developing researcher training.

Dr Anuj Bhatt

Impact and Innovation Officer

anuj.bhatt@mpls.ox.ac.uk

01865 282462

Polly Bunce

Academic Appointments Officer (currently on maternity leave)

polly.bunce@mpls.ox.ac.uk

01865 282588

Professor Helen Byrne

Director of Equality and Diversity

helen.byrne@maths.ox.ac.uk

Louisa Carson

Project Administrator, MPLS Enterprising Women Programme

louisa.carson@mpls.ox.ac.uk

Luke Cheesbrough

PA/Office Manager, Industrial Research Partnerships

luke.cheesbrough@mpls.ox.ac.uk

+44 (0)1865 283797

Rosie Collins

Research Assessment Manager

rosie.collins@mpls.ox.ac.uk

01865 282463

Professor Zhanfeng Cui

Director of Strategic Projects (China)

zhanfeng.cui@eng.ox.ac.uk

James Cunning

Researcher Training Coordinator

james.cunning@mpls.ox.ac.uk

+44 (0)1865 282589

Hannah Curwell-Parry

Head of Development, MPLS (currently on maternity leave)

hannah.curwell-parry@devoff.ox.ac.uk

+44 (0)1865 282580 +44 (0)7894 838397

Rachel Dahl

Head of Division's Executive Assistant

rachel.dahl@mpls.ox.ac.uk

+44 (0) 1865 282582

Dr Keri Dexter

Head of Strategic Planning and Projects

keri.dexter@mpls.ox.ac.uk

+44 (0)1865 282575

Marialuise Folkard

Office Manager & EA to Divisional Registrar

marialuise.folkard@mpls.ox.ac.uk

+44 (0)1865 282460

Dr Tracy Gale

Divisional Registrar and Chief Operating Officer

tracy.gale@mpls.ox.ac.uk

+44 (0)1865 282574

Dr Murray Gardner

Industrial Research Partnerships - Life Sciences

murray.gardner@mpls.ox.ac.uk

01865 283797

Rachel Gaw

Events and Communications Officer, Industrial Research Partnerships

rachel.gaw@mpls.ox.ac.uk

01865 283796

Dr Andy Gilchrist

Industrial Research Partnerships - Energy

andy.gilchrist@mpls.ox.ac.uk

01865 283791

Anne Hobbs

Academic Appointments Officer (covering maternity leave)

anne.hobbs@mpls.ox.ac.uk

01865 282588

Daisy J. Hung

Equality and Diversity Facilitator

daisy.hung@mpls.ox.ac.uk

+44 (0)1865 282464

Justin Hutchence

Researcher Training and Development Manager

justin.hutchence@mpls.ox.ac.uk

+44 (0)1865 282622

Julia Iball

Acting Team Lead - MPLS Development

julia.iball@devoff.ox.ac.uk

+44 (0)1865 282581

Dr Christopher Jones

Head of Industrial Research Partnerships

christopher.jones@mpls.ox.ac.uk

+44 (0)1865 283833

Sarah Loving

REF Impact Support/Divisional Science Writer

sarah.loving@mpls.ox.ac.uk

+44 (0)1865 282108

Bob Mahoney

Head of Graduate Policy and Administration

bob.mahoney@mpls.ox.ac.uk

01865 282535

Katherine Miles

Divisional Finance Manager

katherine.miles@admin.ox.ac.uk

Sarolta Mohaine Palfi

Industrial Research Partnerships Manager – ICT & Creative Industries, AI

sarolta.mohainepalfi@mpls.ox.ac.uk

+44 (0) 1865 283793

Professor Alison Noble

Associate Head (Industrial Liaison and Innovation)

alison.noble@eng.ox.ac.uk

+44 (0)1865 617690

Sasha Panagiotidis

Graduate Studies Assistant (covering maternity leave)

sasha.panagiotidis@admin.ox.ac.uk

+44 (0)1865 282579

Dr Elizabeth Peachey

Assistant Registrar (Planning and Research Impact) - currently on secondment

elizabeth.peachey@mpls.ox.ac.uk

+44 (0)1865 282087

Professor David Pyle

Academic Champion for Public Engagement with Research

david.pyle@earth.ox.ac.uk

Rebecca Reynolds

Graduate Studies Assistant (currently on maternity leave)

rebecca.reynolds@mpls.ox.ac.uk

+44 (0)1865 282579

Dr James Semple

Industrial Research Partnerships - Physical Sciences

james.semple@mpls.ox.ac.uk

01865 283797

Dr Deborah Spencer

Deputy Head of Industrial Research Partnerships; University Lead, UK Industrial ...

deborah.spencer@mpls.ox.ac.uk

+44 (0)1865 283718

Rachel Srawley

Senior HR Assistant (part-time, Tues-Thurs)

rachel.srawley@admin.ox.ac.uk

+44 (0)1865 282156

Professor Graham Taylor

Associate Head (Estates and Capital Planning)

graham.taylor@zoo.ox.ac.uk

Anne Vallins-Hooper

Head of Education Planning and Policy

anne.vallins-hooper@mpls.ox.ac.uk

01865 282180

Saskia Visser

Co-ordinator of the AI Popup Science Shop

saskia.visser@mpls.ox.ac.uk

01865 282 595