Cookies on this website

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you click 'Accept all cookies' we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies and you won't see this message again. If you click 'Reject all non-essential cookies' only necessary cookies providing core functionality such as security, network management, and accessibility will be enabled. Click 'Find out more' for information on how to change your cookie settings.

A list of the teams and team members in the MPLS Divisional Office.

Academic HR Team

Management of administrative procedures and processes relating to all academic appointments in the Division.

Academic Office

Responsible for learning and teaching policy; cross-departmental outreach; divisional-level graduate administration; public engagement; entrepreneurship education; and personal and professional training for doctoral students and postdoctoral researchers. Includes the Graduate Office, Training team and Enterprise team.

Administrative team

Responsible for the management and day-to-day running of the Divisional Office, and provides Executive Assistant support to senior team members.

Communications

Responsible for the MPLS website and Twitter, the Division's e-newsletter, the Division's involvement with The Conversation, information fliers about research projects, liaison with industry and partnerships, and liaison with communications staff in the departments and the University's Public Affairs Directorate.

Development Office

The Development Office leads fundraising efforts across the departments, from student support and faculty posts to building projects and equipment costs.

Enterprise

Responsible for development of the MPLS Enterprise Programme; supports MPLS departments and CDTs to develop and deliver their Enterprise and commercialisation training and activities.

Equality, Diversity and Inclusion

This team develops divisional strategy in all areas of equality, diversity and inclusion (EDI) in relation to staff and students.

Finance

Management of financial planning activity across departments, notably the preparation of the annual divisional budget. Day-to-day guidance to departments.

Graduate Office

Responsible for the management of all aspects of on-course graduate student administration, support for the Graduate Supervision System, the maintenance of graduate student records on the University’s Student System, supporting the administration of new Centres for Doctoral Training and Doctoral Training Partnerships, and administering postgraduate student funding for RCUK doctoral training grants/partnerships, including any associated funding streams, and various University postgraduate scholarships requiring a divisional competition (e.g. the Clarendon Scholarships).

HR Team

The MPLS HR Team is responsible for supporting the Division and its departments with regard to HR policy, including recruitment and selection.

Innovation and Business Partnerships Team

The Innovation and Business Partnerships Team focuses on building strong research collaborations between industry and the University, facilitating both enduring strategic partnerships with companies and funding for collaborative research. The team liaises with companies to understand research needs and works with departments to assemble bespoke, multi-disciplinary, research propositions that match Oxford’s strengths to company needs.

Public Engagement

This team is responsible for supporting researchers to think about, plan and do high quality public engagement. We look after Oxford Sparks (the University's digital science engagement platform), run training and a number of different activities that contribute to a positive and supportive environment for public engagement as part of research culture.

Research Support

Responsible for strategic planning in relation to research funding, research facilitation, research policy and administration for the MPLS Division.

Senior team

Includes the Head of Division, Divisional Registrar, Deputy Head and Associate Heads.

Strategic Planning and Projects

Oversight of strategic planning and projects for MPLS Division, Communications, Public Engagement with Research and Information Security and Data Protection.

Training

Responsible for the Division’s training programme for DPhil students and research staff, and supporting departments in developing researcher training.

Catherine Anderson

HR Business Partner (3 days per week, variable)

catherine.anderson@admin.ox.ac.uk

Ben Armstrong

Senior Development Executive (Engineering and Computer Science)

ben.armstrong@devoff.ox.ac.uk

07909 467238

Rachel Ashwanden

Science Engagement Officer

rachel.ashwanden@mpls.ox.ac.uk

Dr Anuj Bhatt

Impact and Innovation Officer

anuj.bhatt@mpls.ox.ac.uk

01865 282462

David Black

HR Business Partner

david.black@admin.ox.ac.uk

Polly Bunce

Academic Appointments and HR Officer

polly.bunce@mpls.ox.ac.uk

01865 282588

Sophie Campbell

HR Assistant and Office Administrator

sophie.campbell@mpls.ox.ac.uk

+44 (0)1865 282570

Luke Cheesbrough

PA/Office Manager, Innovation and Business Partnerships

luke.cheesbrough@mpls.ox.ac.uk

+44 (0)1865 283797

Rosie Collins

Research Assessment Manager (currently on maternity leave)

rosie.collins@mpls.ox.ac.uk

01865 282463

Professor Zhanfeng Cui

Director of Strategic Projects, China

zhanfeng.cui@eng.ox.ac.uk

James Cunning

Researcher Training Coordinator

james.cunning@mpls.ox.ac.uk

+44 (0)1865 282589

Hannah Curwell-Parry

MPLS Head of Development (currently on maternity leave)

hannah.curwell-parry@devoff.ox.ac.uk

+44 (0)1865 282580 +44 (0)7894 838397

Connor D'Arcy

Innovation and Business Partnerships Associate

connor.darcy@mpls.ox.ac.uk

Rachel Dahl

Head of Division's Executive Assistant

rachel.dahl@mpls.ox.ac.uk

+44 (0) 1865 282582

Dr Keri Dexter

MPLS Head of Strategic Planning & Projects

keri.dexter@mpls.ox.ac.uk

+44 (0)1865 282575

Stacey Doyle

Graduate Office Assistant

stacey.doyle@mpls.ox.ac.uk

Martin Edmunds

MPLS Head of Research Support

martin.edmunds@mpls.ox.ac.uk

+44 (0)1865 282576

Zoë Falk

Development Project Officer

zoe.falk@devoff.ox.ac.uk

+44 (0)1865 282593

Dr Tracy Gale

Divisional Registrar and Chief Operating Officer

tracy.gale@mpls.ox.ac.uk

+44 (0)1865 282574

Dr Murray Gardner

MPLS Interim Team Lead, Innovation & Business Partnerships

murray.gardner@mpls.ox.ac.uk

01865 283797

Dr Andy Gilchrist

Innovation and Business Partnerships - Net Zero Energy

andy.gilchrist@mpls.ox.ac.uk

07714 598113

Bulvinder Gurm

Head of Policy for Taught Courses

bulvinder.gurm@mpls.ox.ac.uk

+44 (0)1865 282577

Professor Nick Hawes

Academic Champion for Public Engagement with Research

Kirsty Heber-Smith

MPLS Communications Lead (currently on maternity leave)

kirsty.heber-smith@mpls.ox.ac.uk

+44 (0)1865 282594

Professor Laura Herz

Associate Head (Research)

laura.herz@physics.ox.ac.uk

Amy Hinks

ED&I Data Analyst and Athena Swan Coordinator

amy.hinks@mpls.ox.ac.uk

+44 (0) 1865 282583

Anne Hobbs

Academic Appointments Officer

anne.hobbs@mpls.ox.ac.uk

Please call on MS Teams

Daisy Hopkins

Science Engagement Facilitator

daisy.hopkins@mpls.ox.ac.uk

Lauren Hughes

HR Business Partner

lauren.hughes@admin.ox.ac.uk

Daisy J. Hung

MPLS Head of Equality, Diversity and Inclusion

daisy.hung@mpls.ox.ac.uk

Justin Hutchence

Researcher Training and Development Manager

justin.hutchence@mpls.ox.ac.uk

+44 (0)1865 282622

Rob Key

Research Video Producer

rob.key@mpls.ox.ac.uk

Jo Knights

Equality, Diversity and Inclusion Coordinator

joanne.knights@mpls.ox.ac.uk

Professor Marta Kwiatkowska

Associate Head (Finance)

marta.kwiatkowska@cs.ox.ac.uk

Dr Michaela Livingstone-Banks

Head of Public and Community Engagement with Research

michaela.livingstone@mpls.ox.ac.uk

+44 (0)1865 282595

Sarah Loving

MPLS Communications Officer

sarah.loving@mpls.ox.ac.uk

+44 (0)1865 282108

Joshua Lowe

Academic Administrative Officer

joshua.lowe@mpls.ox.ac.uk

Bob Mahoney

Head of Graduate Policy and Administration

bob.mahoney@mpls.ox.ac.uk

01865 282535

Merita Mici

Divisional Finance Officer

merita.mici@admin.ox.ac.uk

01865 282614

Katherine Miles

Divisional Finance Manager

katherine.miles@admin.ox.ac.uk

Dr Anne Miller

Enterprise Programme Manager

anne.miller@mpls.ox.ac.uk

+44 (0)1865 282591

Sarolta Mohaine Palfi

Innovation and Business Partnerships - ICT & Creative Industries, AI

sarolta.mohainepalfi@mpls.ox.ac.uk

+44 (0) 1865 283793

Professor Dermot O'Hare

Associate Head (Industrial Liaison and Innovation)

dermot.ohare@chem.ox.ac.uk

Helen Parker

Divisional Finance Manager

helen.parker@admin.ox.ac.uk

01865 282615

Sarah Parkin

Continuous Improvement Manager

sarah.parkin@mpls.ox.ac.uk

Dr Elizabeth Peachey

Assistant Registrar (Planning and Research Impact)

elizabeth.peachey@mpls.ox.ac.uk

+44 (0)1865 282087

Janina Pownall

HR Business Partner (part-time, Thurs-Fri)

janina.pownall@admin.ox.ac.uk

+44 (0)1865 282157

Hannah Ravenswood

Equality, Diversity and Inclusion Facilitator – Training and Development

hannah.ravenswood@mpls.ox.ac.uk

Dr Alan Roth

Royal Society Entrepreneur in Residence and Visiting Lecturer in Chemistry

alan.roth@mpls.ox.ac.uk

+44 (0)1865 282 470

Jeannie Scott

Strategic Projects Manager (secondment)

jeannie.scott@zoo.ox.ac.uk

Dr Irene Scullion

Research Assessment Manager (covering maternity leave)

irene.scullion@mpls.ox.ac.uk

Dr James Semple

Innovation and Business Partnerships - Physical Sciences

james.semple@mpls.ox.ac.uk

01865 283797

Jeremy Sims

Divisional Financial Controller

jeremy.sims@admin.ox.ac.uk

+44 (0)1865 282573

Kerry Smith

HR Business Partner

kerry.smith@admin.ox.ac.uk

Dr Deborah Spencer

Innovation and Business Partnerships Manager; University Lead, UK Industrial ...

deborah.spencer@mpls.ox.ac.uk

+44 (0)1865 283718

Rachel Srawley

Senior HR Assistant (part-time, Tues-Thurs)

rachel.srawley@admin.ox.ac.uk

+44 (0)1865 282156

John Styles

Information Systems Lead

john.styles@mpls.ox.ac.uk

Dr Fiona Suttle

Research Communication Officer (Digital)

fiona.jones@mpls.ox.ac.uk

01865 282594

Helen Taylor

MPLS Communications Lead (covering maternity leave)

helen.taylor@mpls.ox.ac.uk

Professor Graham Taylor

Deputy Head of Division and Associate Head (Estates and Capital Planning)

graham.taylor@biology.ox.ac.uk

Caitlin Tebbit

Deputy Head of Development (currently on maternity leave)

caitlin.tebbit@devoff.ox.ac.uk

+44 (0)1865 282596

Louisa Trevail

Enterprising Women Programme Manager

louisa.trevail@mpls.ox.ac.uk

Alison Trinder

Training and Development Manager (two days a week)

alison.trinder@mpls.ox.ac.uk

Anne Vallins-Hooper

Head of Education Planning and Policy

anne.vallins-hooper@mpls.ox.ac.uk

01865 282180

Jonathan Walker

Development Executive (seconded to MPLS Division)

jonathan.walker@devoff.ox.ac.uk

+44 (0)1865 611654

Lauren Wild

Graduate Funding Officer

lauren.wild@mpls.ox.ac.uk

Lisa Willmot

Senior Development Executive (Physics) (currently on maternity leave)

lisa.willmot@devoff.ox.ac.uk