Cookies on this website
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you click 'Continue' we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies and you won't see this message again. Click 'Find out more' for information on how to change your cookie settings.

Academic Appointments

Management of administrative procedures and processes relating to all academic appointments in the Division.

Academic Office

Responsible for learning and teaching policy; cross-departmental outreach; divisional-level graduate administration; public engagement; entrepreneurship education; and personal and professional training for doctoral students and postdoctoral researchers. Includes the Graduate Office, Training team and Enterprise team.

Athena SWAN

Supports MPLS departments with their gender equality objectives, shares best practice, and assists departments with their Athena SWAN Award applications.

Communications

Responsible for the MPLS website and Twitter, the Division's e-newsletter, the Division's involvement with The Conversation, information fliers about research projects, liaison with communications staff in the departments and the University's Public Affairs Directorate.

Development Office

Leads development efforts across the departments for capital, endowment, faculty, and student support as a part of the £3 billion Oxford Thinking campaign.

Enterprise

Responsible for development of the MPLS Enterprise Programme; supports MPLS departments and CDTs to develop and deliver their Enterprise and commercialisation training and activities.

Finance

Management of financial planning activity across departments, notably the preparation of the annual divisional budget. Day-to-day guidance to departments.

Graduate Office

Responsible for the management of all aspects of on-course graduate student administration, support for the Graduate Supervision System, the maintenance of graduate student records on the University’s Student System, supporting the administration of new Centres for Doctoral Training and Doctoral Training Partnerships, and administering postgraduate student funding for RCUK doctoral training grants/partnerships, including any associated funding streams, and various University postgraduate scholarships requiring a divisional competition (e.g. the Clarendon Scholarships).

Industrial Research Partnerships

The Industrial Research Partnerships team focuses on building strong research collaborations between industry and the University, facilitating both enduring strategic partnerships with companies and funding for collaborative research. The team liaises with companies to understand research needs and works with departments to assemble bespoke, multi-disciplinary, research propositions that match Oxford’s strengths to company needs. We also leverage company participation with public grant funding to support collaborative research. We work closely with other teams across the University (e.g. Careers Service, Oxford University Innovation) to maximise the benefits to both companies and the University. The team is always keen to hear from companies seeking research based solutions to challenging problems.

Personnel

The MPLS Personnel Team is responsible for supporting the Division and its departments with regard to personnel policy, including recruitment and selection.

Planning and Research

Oversight of Divisional Research Strategy, coordination of cross-cutting research themes and Divisional research initiatives, and relationships with funding bodies.

Public Engagement

This team is responsible for Oxford Sparks, as well as supporting researchers' public engagement ideas.

Senior team

Including the Division's Head, Deputy Head, Associate Heads and Directors.

Training

Responsible for the Division’s training programme for DPhil students and research staff, and supporting departments in developing researcher training.

Emily  Ashwell
Emily Ashwell

Divisional Accountant
emily.ashwell@mpls.ox.ac.uk
+44 (0)1865 282615

Helen Beauchamp
Helen Beauchamp

Graduate Studies Officer
helen.beauchamp@mpls.ox.ac.uk
+44 (0)1865 282584

Dr Gwen Booth
Dr Gwen Booth

Academic HR Officer
gwen.booth@mpls.ox.ac.uk
+44 (0)1865 282628

Professor Donal Bradley
Professor Donal Bradley

Head of Division
donal.bradley@mpls.ox.ac.uk
+44 (0)1865 282572

Polly Bunce
Polly Bunce

Academic Appointments Officer (currently on maternity leave)
polly.bunce@mpls.ox.ac.uk
+44 (0)1865 282588

Professor Helen Byrne
Professor Helen Byrne

Director of Equality and Diversity

Sarah Bysouth
Sarah Bysouth

HR Business Partner
sarah.bysouth@admin.ox.ac.uk
+44 (0)1865 282157

James Cunning
James Cunning

Researcher Training Coordinator
james.cunning@mpls.ox.ac.uk
+44 (0)1865 282589

Hannah Curwell-Parry
Hannah Curwell-Parry

Head of Development, MPLS
hannah.curwell-parry@devoff.ox.ac.uk
+44 (0)1865 282580 +44 (0)7894 838397

Rachel Dahl
Rachel Dahl

Head of Division's Executive Assistant
rachel.dahl@mpls.ox.ac.uk
+44 (0) 1865 282582

Professor Charlotte Deane
Professor Charlotte Deane

Associate Head (Research)
deane@stats.ox.ac.uk
+44 (0)1865 281301

Keri Dexter
Keri Dexter

Head of Strategic Planning and Projects
keri.dexter@mpls.ox.ac.uk
+44 (0)1865 282575

Alison Edwards
Alison Edwards

Management Accountant
alison.edwards@mpls.ox.ac.uk
+44 (0)1865 282461

Professor Alison Etheridge
Professor Alison Etheridge

Deputy Head of Division
alison.etheridge@maths.ox.ac.uk
+44 (0)1865 281244

Zoe Falk
Zoe Falk

Development Assistant
zoe.falk@devoff.ox.ac.uk
+44 (0)1865 282593

Dr Murray Gardner
Dr Murray Gardner

Industrial Research Partnerships - Life Sciences
murray.gardner@mpls.ox.ac.uk
01865 283797

Professor David Gavaghan
Professor David Gavaghan

Director of Graduate Training
david.gavaghan@dtc.ox.ac.uk
+44 (0)1865 610667

Dr Andy Gilchrist
Dr Andy Gilchrist

Industrial Research Partnerships - Energy
andy.gilchrist@mpls.ox.ac.uk
01865 283797

Professor Pete Grindrod
Professor Pete Grindrod

Director of Strategic Partnerships
peter.grindrod@maths.ox.ac.uk

Bulvinder  Gurm
Bulvinder Gurm

Head of Policy for Taught Courses
bulvinder.gurm@mpls.ox.ac.uk
+44 (0)1865 282577

Kirsty Heber-Smith
Kirsty Heber-Smith

Website and Digital Media Officer
kirsty.heber-smith@mpls.ox.ac.uk
+44 (0)1865 282594

Daisy J. Hung
Daisy J. Hung

MPLS Athena SWAN Facilitator
daisy.hung@mpls.ox.ac.uk
+44 (0)1865 282464

Justin Hutchence
Justin Hutchence

Researcher Training and Development Manager
justin.hutchence@mpls.ox.ac.uk
+44 (0)1865 282622

Jared Hutchings
Jared Hutchings

Head of Academic Office
jared.hutchings@mpls.ox.ac.uk
+44 (0)1865 282180

Kingsley Irwin
Kingsley Irwin

Project Accountant
kingsley.irwin@admin.ox.ac.uk
+ 44 (0) 1865 282583

Dr Simon Jackman
Dr Simon Jackman

Senior Innovation Fellow
simon.jackman@mpls.ox.ac.uk
01865 283797

Isabel Jones
Isabel Jones

Development Executive
isabel.jones@devoff.ox.ac.uk
+44 (0)1865 282581

Dr Michaela  Livingstone-Banks
Dr Michaela Livingstone-Banks

Public Engagement Facilitator
michaela.livingstone@mpls.ox.ac.uk
+44 (0)1865 282595

Jennifer Lockie
Jennifer Lockie

Academic Appointments Officer (maternity cover)
jennifer.lockie@mpls.ox.ac.uk
+44 (0)1865 282588

Sarah  Loving
Sarah Loving

Science Writer
sarah.loving@mpls.ox.ac.uk
+44 (0)1865 282108

Merita Mici
Merita Mici

Finance Assistant (part-time)
merita.mici@chem.ox.ac.uk

Dr Anne  Miller
Dr Anne Miller

Enterprise Programme Manager
anne.miller@mpls.ox.ac.uk
+44 (0)1865 282591

Gemma  Moorhouse
Gemma Moorhouse

Finance Officer
gemma.moorhouse@admin.ox.ac.uk
+44 (0)1865 282614

Dorothy Nicholas
Dorothy Nicholas

PA/Office Manager, Industrial Research Partnerships Team
dorothy.nicholas@tss.ox.ac.uk

Professor Alison Noble
Professor Alison Noble

Associate Head (Industrial Liaison and Innovation)
alison.noble@eng.ox.ac.uk
+44 (0)1865 617690

Ben Parish
Ben Parish

HR Business Partner
ben.parish@admin.ox.ac.uk
+44 (0)1865 282735

Michael Parkes Bowen
Michael Parkes Bowen

HR Business Partner
michael.parkesbowen@admin.ox.ac.uk
+44 (0)1865 282734

Dr Elizabeth Peachey
Dr Elizabeth Peachey

Assistant Registrar (Planning and Research Impact)
elizabeth.peachey@mpls.ox.ac.uk
+44 (0)1865 282087

Barbara Pedley
Barbara Pedley

Divisional Office Administrator
barbara.pedley@mpls.ox.ac.uk
+44 (0) 1865 282570

Maria Poole
Maria Poole

Graduate Funding Officer
maria.poole@mpls.ox.ac.uk
+44 (0)1865 282560

Rebecca Reynolds
Rebecca Reynolds

Graduate Studies Assistant
rebecca.reynolds@mpls.ox.ac.uk
+44 (0)1865 282579

Dr James  Semple
Dr James Semple

Industrial Research Partnerships - Physical Sciences
james.semple@mpls.ox.ac.uk
01865 283797

Dr Saira Shaikh
Dr Saira Shaikh

Divisional Secretary
saira.shaikh@mpls.ox.ac.uk
+44 (0)1865 282574

Jeremy Sims
Jeremy Sims

Divisional Financial Controller
jeremy.sims@admin.ox.ac.uk
+44 (0)1865 282573

Rachel Srawley
Rachel Srawley

Senior HR Assistant (working days Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursday)
rachel.srawley@admin.ox.ac.uk
+44 (0)1865 282156

Lou Sumner
Lou Sumner

Head of Graduate Administration and Training
louise.sumner@mpls.ox.ac.uk
+44 (0)1865 282462

Alison Trinder
Alison Trinder

Researcher Training Adviser
alison.trinder@mpls.ox.ac.uk
+44 (0)1865 282470

Professor John Wheater
Professor John Wheater

Associate Head (Buildings and Facilities)
john.wheater@physics.ox.ac.uk
+44 (0)1865 273961 or +44 (0)1865 282190

Monica Wilson
Monica Wilson

HR Assistant (working days Monday and Friday)
mplspersonnel@admin.ox.ac.uk
+44 (0)1865 282156